Diehard mod


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 chieftonw

chieftonw

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 September 2007 - 07:02 PM

I was wondering is there was a newer version of the Die Hard mod?  I thought I heard that there was a 1.4 version, however I can not seem to find it.

Thanks,
Jeff

#2 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 04 September 2007 - 07:13 PM

View Postchieftonw, on 3rd September 2007, 9:02pm, said:

I was wondering is there was a newer version of the Die Hard mod?  I thought I heard that there was a 1.4 version, however I can not seem to find it.

Thanks,
Jeff
Hmm, we only have 1.1 I believe. You can try asking Novik (he's registered here) about it. If there is, please let me know and I'll update the files section.


#3 chieftonw

chieftonw

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:07 PM

I PMed him and here is what he sent me.  It looks like the mod is up to version 1.52.  I am not sure if this will work on the English version or if it only for the Russian version



   Check this:
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/.../s2/DieHard.rar [7M] - core files
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/...Hard_sounds.rar [5M] - optional sounds
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/...hard152_src.rar [180K] - source in s2m format
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/.../DieHardCfg.rar [200K] - mod configurator



View PostSlaughter, on 4th September 2007, 12:13pm, said:

Hmm, we only have 1.1 I believe. You can try asking Novik (he's registered here) about it. If there is, please let me know and I'll update the files section.


#4 chieftonw

chieftonw

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:54 PM

Got the DH working, needed 1.2 of the game installed

#5 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 09 September 2007 - 12:09 PM

Lovely! I've added it to our files section. Thanks!


#6 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 09 September 2007 - 12:26 PM

I say!

v1.1:   2 kB
v1.52: 13.26 MB

... I have a suspicion that the mod has expanded a bit in scope. Novik? What news in the new, wonderful version? :blush:

#7 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 09 September 2007 - 03:17 PM

About half of the size is sound files. Not sure what. I think the Die Hard mod is what eventually became Hammer & Sickle (or was it another mod? Can't be sure...)


#8 Crimsomnia

Crimsomnia

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Tampere, Finland

Posted 06 November 2007 - 08:11 PM

Anyone else noticed how easily enemies notice trapped doors and mines after installing this?

#9 Novik

Novik

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts

Posted 18 December 2007 - 10:36 AM

View PostKnan, on 9th September 2007, 4:26pm, said:

... I have a suspicion that the mod has expanded a bit in scope. Novik? What news in the new, wonderful version? :oh:
Err... 5 years ago...
1.1 - contain balance changes only
1.52 - some new merks, new scenario zones etc. For allies scenario only. All new dialogs - on russian.

#10 Ros

Ros

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 18 December 2007 - 11:55 AM

Hi,


This is my first post on this Forum so I'd like to say hell to everyone.

If anyone (like me for example) was wondering how to install DieHard 1.52 mod, here are detailde english installation instructions I have received from Novik:

Quote

1.52, the latest version.
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/.../s2/DieHard.rar   [7M] - core files
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/...Hard_sounds.rar   [5M] - optional sounds (some
songs for radio)
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/...hard152_src.rar   [180K] - source in s2m
format (if you is player only, not modder, you don't   need it)
http://vif2ne.ru/s3/.../DieHardCfg.rar   [200K] - mod configurator
(optional)

Requirements:
Last game patch   (1.2? I dont remember. I think, gold version already contain  
it)

Installation (for original S^2):
Unpack all archives to game   directory.

I don't know anything about S2 Gold version, may be mod's for   original
version compatible with it, may be not. Try. After unpacking you   must see at
game directory some like this:

DieHard\    <mod's   directory>
game.exe    <game exe   file>
....

Applying.
1) Start game, choose "Custom game" in main   menu (or some like this item, i
hav'nt english version)
2) You must see   two windows, empty at left, and with some items at right.
Transmit item   "DieHard 1.52" from right to left and press "Apply". You don't
need to   repeat this step in future, do it only once, before start new  
scenario.
3) Start new allies scenario.

Remarks.
1) This is   very old work, 4 or 5 years ago. May be It contain some errors,
be   patient.
2) Mod contain some russian dialogs, strings and sounds.  I can't   translate
it's, my english is too bad for this.
3) In DieHard\ directory   you may see program DieHardCfg.exe, this is a mod's
configurator. With it   you can change game's balance. If you want to know
more about it - try to   read DieHard\readme.txt with some russian->english
translator. For   example - http://www.online-tr...ext.asp?lang=en


Best regards,

Ros.

#11 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 18 December 2007 - 08:03 PM

Thanks Ros! I added a link to this topic in our files section. Oh, and welcome to the boards!


#12 Innocuous

Innocuous

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 11:27 PM

I am having trouble with the Diehard mod, it locks up whenever starting missions.  I've tried adding it with the custom came menu and with addmod.  When added with addmod to a gave saved during a mission it works fine until it gets to the start of the next mission then locks right at the begining of the mission. Any ideas?  Thanks.

#13 Hety

Hety

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 September 2009 - 05:15 PM

Just dont forget to extract the script folder to the root of S2 directory. Then  in will be fine.

I have another q tho... Can anyone tell me command to immediately leave current zone and return to map? I killed everyone, but diehard doesnt let me exit coz i "havent kileed everyone". But i did and checked it twice with showall command.

#14 Sidlak Palma

Sidlak Palma

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 04:51 AM

i wonder if this thread is still alive.. anyways i installed the 1.52 diehard version. it looks cool.. explosions everywhere but problem is at map screen i cant do the squad camp thingy.

hey how do you change your profile name here in forums? i want to use my nick.. registered via face book but it displayed my full name :(

#15 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 15 June 2012 - 06:47 PM

Hi

The thread is several years old judging by the previous post to yours, but there are still S2 players around and hopefully more coming along after its release on GOG :)

I can't help you with the first problem, but to change your forum display name you should be able to click on your name at the very top-right of the screen and edit your profile. I think you have to have at least 1 forum post to do that and now you do.
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.

#16 laclongquan

laclongquan

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2015 - 11:58 AM

delete my old post because I seem to be wrong about that part.

Anyway., I wonder if this mod has any conflict with Difficulty  Grade Changes mod.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users