Arming troops with the desired weapons in Base Attacks

Smiffy

Hello All!

I've been enjoying the original X-Com (1994) for about three years now. Pardon me for not logging on and participating before, but thanks to both the old .txt based Unoffical Strategy guide and the sterling work that some of you guys have put into making a gaming-Wiki; whenever I couldn't solve something, there was a salty old veteran sharing his advice on the problem. Thanks everyone for that!

As Steam put out TFTD for £1.50 in a Xmas-Sale, I thought I'd give it a shot.

Now, I know that when TFTD was in development, everyone thought X-Com1 was too easy due to the "reset to Easy-mode" bug in v1.0, so TFTD was made V.hard. So, I was perpared to get taken back to school.

Now here's my prob....

It's April.

I've got Sonic rifles and Pulsers, but no M.C., melee weapons or advanced armour, much less the stun or super-duper launchers.

I've got Lobster-men making a base-assault at me. It's my main base with labs & workshops, my other two are essentially listening stations with sub-docks on.

First time, I tried to fight 'em off, I got offered a lot of naff weapons (the harpoon/dart guns) as well as enough sonic rifles for my ten men and a few grenades & med-kits.

I managed to fight them off, with only 2 survivors (out of 10) only to find a second wave of Lobsters inbound before I can recruit any more rookies. I'm going to need a better arsenal to fight the first wave off with enought guys left over to take on the second assault!

The only thing I find that kills lobsters at this tech level is "double grenading them" with Sonic-pulser, which fortunately I have 37 of in the store.

When I go back to my pre-first-Assault savegame (I know, I know, dirty cheat) I sell everything extra to try and force the game to give each of my guys (10 of them) the following:

1x sonic rifle

1x clip for above

1x Prox-mine

3x Sonic-grenades pulsers

and 1 med-kit per 2 guys

That's only 65 items.