dialogs in S3?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 damocles

damocles

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 03 March 2005 - 03:30 PM

Som has anyone tried playing around with these yet?  I'm at a stage where I would liek to include some dialog into a map, but am not sure how.  So far all I know is that it uses excel files for the dialog, but I have no idea what to add into the file.

I assume it will contain info about who is speaking, what they say, etc.  Probably also contains links to the audio file to play for each sentence.  It seems Nival didn't see fit to include an example file, so I have no idea where to start.

Perhaps I'll go badger them for an example...

#2 damocles

damocles

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 09 March 2005 - 07:49 PM

So no-one has any idea about dialogs then?  This is not good.  Dialogs are the last major hurdle stopping me from creating the mod I want to.

#3 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 09 March 2005 - 10:21 PM

In editor manual there is something about heads...
(Additional features../Creating 3D objects and bottom)

If you wanna edit heads (are my lips moving in my head :huh: ) you need LifeStudio:HEAD editor (http//:www.lifemi.com)...(?)

I do my 'dialogs' in HTML-format: like comics... there is photo on the left side and words on the right side :D  and you can scroll comics down and up... I know some thight arses doesn't accept that solution, but I will do it that way anyway... hah! After all one of my hobbys is drawing black and white UG-comixs (some from our very small UG-scene here in Finland even knows KoMik...)

If you find out how to use those Exel-files to make no lips moving dialogs... let me know.

#4 damocles

damocles

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 15 March 2005 - 02:37 PM

The idea of comic books is not really much use to me.  I need to be able to use all the dialog scripting functions in the lua scripts.  The comic idea would be good for just telling the story, but I am more interested in the interactive stuff.  Getting certain actions to start after and during cartain dialog lines are spoken.  That kind of thing.  I also want to be able to create dialogs to ploay as acknowledgements.

Without dialogs, there's not much point continuing my mod.  So many of the missions are already heavily reliant on dialogs and dialog feedback scripting.

#5 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 15 March 2005 - 02:53 PM

I'll check with Nival if they have time to answer it.


#6 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 15 March 2005 - 08:36 PM

It would be great if Nival helps us a bit with this...

Damocles, I know what u mean... now I have only one way to tell the story and I think it's not enough: I use those 'hints' in every mission and I fill them with words (my friend helps in spelling... so all may even understand them). Proper dialogs would be useful to make small couple sentences and clauses conversations which would look kinda stupid in that big hint interface.

I haven't managed to 'pop up' those clue-interfaces in Sentinels (letters and folders) but they work well in orginal. I know that Sentinels doesnt use clues/objectives but is there any way to 'pop them up' with some function (I'm bored to that hint interface)?

"You must help me... the horrorfreaknazizombies are trying to suck my blood" :example of small dialog which I would like to make in my scenario  :D  if I just know how...

#7 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 15 March 2005 - 08:50 PM

Before I ask them, are there other questions that should be asked at the same time?


#8 damocles

damocles

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 04:09 PM

Yeah, one more - ask them if it's possible to disable or somehow bypass the custom character screen.  It's not vital, but it would save me a lot of work.

The dialogs are the biggest thing though.  Ask them if they have a dialog .xls file they could give us.  I'm sure I could figure out how to use them from that.

Thanks.

#9 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 19 March 2005 - 08:02 AM

Hmm, I'll not send the mail until Sunday or Monday. Other things I should ask?


#10 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 29 March 2005 - 12:56 PM

Okay, I have contacted Nival with this. They are a little busy preparing for KRI 2005 right now, but will answer around April 5th.


#11 Fighter2a

Fighter2a

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 31 March 2005 - 02:54 AM

Whats KRI 2005 (can't read). Is it a place where they show off games?

#12 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 31 March 2005 - 12:23 PM

Not sure. Nival didn't explain. But judging from the participants, it's a Russian mini version of E3. Akella is a developer, Nival is a developer, 1C is Russia's largest publisher and so on.


#13 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 01 April 2005 - 10:14 AM

Would this be more simple question for Nival :huh: ?

In game when your characters say something like "Can't do that." there pop-up that black long box under text (Duke:" Can't do that."). I would like to know what is those table in editor and how to make those happen with script function.

In audio options you can choose on/off character responses and those are what I mean here.

I think I can't never make dialogs because I don't have that HeadSeq-program to make lips-sync so "responses" would be enough for me and my small campaing mod.

SOUND AND TEXT plz!?! :P  (now I have to use just sound (PlaySound or Play3DSound) or text (ShowHint or MessageBox) and it's not so multimedia)

#14 DoomMunky

DoomMunky

    Lieutenant

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 01 April 2005 - 10:10 PM

KoMik, I can't wait to play the Small Mod...I'm so excited about it!

#15 FryWalker

FryWalker

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 04 April 2005 - 10:48 AM

KoMik, on Apr 1 2005, 11:14 AM, said:

Would this be more simple question for Nival :huh: ?

In game when your characters say something like "Can't do that." there pop-up that black long box under text (Duke:" Can't do that."). I would like to know what is those table in editor and how to make those happen with script function.

I believe this text is being referenced from the Strings table.
The 'String' column of the record with ID = 12095 is:

"Zovsim zelenyi... I cannot do that."

I guess that the 'Zovsim zelenyi' text could be substituted with any unit's name.

You can then display the text by using the Message() function, passing the required String ID, ie.

Message(12095)

Hope that helps!

#16 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 04 April 2005 - 05:04 PM

Thanks FryWalker! I somehow have missed that function during sneaking around in orginal scripts...

It is not actually what I was looking for. Messagefunction begins sequence, it's like a pause and player can return to game only by pressing Escape-button. During that seguence next functions just wait... but it is one way to 'subtitle' and show text. I'm sure I will use it because sound can be launched before Messagefunction and game plays that sound during sequence (but that Esc-pressing sucks).

I read you (FryWalker) have a problem with onendOfTurn-Function and I would like to help you but I didn't find such function from orginal scripts... sorry (It should be onendOfTurn() but it's not... :P ).

..........thx for new way to tell the story.
---Bender:"Kiss my shiny metal ass."--- :huh:

#17 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 04 April 2005 - 07:40 PM

ehhehehe... I found out one unofficial way to do 'dialog'

--------
Create 4 strings and 2 sounds:
Strings:
1000001 = <br><center>Richie Rich: Do you want these 1000$ without doing nothing?
1000002 = <br><center>next
1000003 = <br><center>Dumbass: I dunno...
1000004 = <br><center>end
Sounds: Same like 1 and 3 strings

Write these functions to script:
WaitForUI(DialogModeBegin())
PlaySound(ID####)
WaitForUI(DialogModeSet(1000001,1,1,1000002))
PlaySound(ID####)
WaitForUI(DialogModeSet(1000003,1,1,1000004))
WaitForUI(DialogModeEnd())
----------

Now your mission got no heads dialog:

Richie Rich: Do you want these 1000$ without doing nothing?
next
(pressing 'next' open next...)

Dumbass: I dunno...
end
(pressing 'end' ends dialogmode)


If someone knows how to include head to this... just let me know. Se on moro! (c u)

#18 vs322

vs322

    modder

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 15 May 2005 - 02:41 PM

KoMik,

Thanks for the script samples; have you (or any one reading this) messed around with the other parameters of the 'DialogModeSet' function? I've successfully gotten multiple choices to show up;

(with strings from your example)
WaitForUI(DialogModeSet(1000001,2,2,1000002,1000004)) would put

Richie Rich: Do you want these 1000$ without doing nothing?
next
end

and you could chose between next or end, but I have no idea how to get the info on which one was clicked.
I have a hunch that there is not a way, because in the game it brings up a yes no dialogue rather than going this route.

Hey slaughter, any luck on getting an .xls dialog file from nival?
-vs

#19 vs322

vs322

    modder

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 24 May 2005 - 02:46 AM

So I've been using KoMik's method for dialog and wile in some situation it works fine, but if you trigger the dialog from inside BeginSequence() ...EndSequence() block and the player hits escape then the game (and the computer freezes). I have hit escape while not inside a sequence and some error flag is thrown up(did not mean for that to be gross) in the console window.
I just really wished I could get at the .xls files- does any know of a way to extract them from the game?

-vs

#20 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 24 May 2005 - 11:05 AM

Yuppy. That was VERY unofficial way to make dialogs... ;)

I have seen some H&S screenshots were is dialogs like that. I hoped that I could do same with Sentinels but there seems to be lots of problems (I don't know if S&H makers have used xls-files or what). It is very good thing to make multiple choices because those make these stuffs possible:

-You can make weapons/items dealers in scenario zones
-You can try bribing with different mount of money (10$, 50$, 100$ etc.)
-You can try different(friedly, direct, threaten etc.) questions/answers when talking to pc-characters ((Jagged Alliance(still my fafourite tb-game) is a very GOOD example))
-More RPG-elements and non-linearity to game/dialogs

So I'm looking ways to make these stuffs possible but my knowledge just end up to crash. I hope that H&S-editor shows how they have made those work. I think xls-file is needed :) .




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users