Rendering the Geoscape Globe

zeldafreak

I'm working on a project using XNA where I'm trying to render the Geoscape Globe in three dimensions. Looking through the WORLD.DAT entry on UFOPaedia and also some other sites on Latitude/Longitude and ways to render a sphere, I've familiarized myself with a little of the necessary math, but I have a long way to go. Before I spent a ton of time, I wanted to know if anyone out there had done any similar or related work that I could steal :P

A little about me: I've been programming for nearly ten years, from QuickBASIC to C/C++ to C# today, professionally for about five years. The development side is no problem for me, but I will have to admit that my 3D math is rusty and I'm learning/relearning as I go.

As far as what I've already done, I created a 2-dimensional render, so I have somewhat of a handle on that. Where I'm having trouble is combining the information stored in WORLD.DAT (essentially texture coordinates) with a 3D sphere.

I have some ideas on where to get started, but wanted to cast my line out there since, from what I've read, this seems to be a very helpful and hard-working community. Any work you've done or even just ideas based on your understanding of the problem-space would be helpful.

Looking at how it's rendered in the game, I'm kinda thinking that they used some kind of ray-tracing method for rendering the globe pixel by pixel because (to my knowledge) there's no geometry stored anywhere. Anyone else have any clues?

Thanks,

David

The game most likely processes each polygon, works out whether or not that polygon would be visible from the user's point of view, then renders it pixel by pixel if so.