Monsters in Grumm mine, how to exterminate?

Model76

Hi,

I am new to this game, and only stumbled on it because of you guys.

A google search, to see if there might be a new(ish) UFO-style game out there, took me here, and then I saw this forum section.

I can't believe I have been missing out on this gem of a game for so long! Reminds me of the original Fallout games, which I loved to death.

My team, after a false start before patching to 1.12, consists of only 3 hired mercs: Cliff, Nails, and Bull.

Cliff is a great medic and soldier, Nails is very versatile, being great at repairs, explosives, and shooting, and Bull is cheap, strong, and can take some hits.

Then I have Ira, which I use mainly as field medic, since she is such a poor shot. She is improving, though.

And Dimitri the Forgetful, who is also OK with a rifle. He still needs a scope to be in class with the others, but I have one waiting at the airport.

My custom merc I have focused on leadership and marksmanship. If I could go back, I would have removed points from mechanical, explosives, and medical, and added to dexterity, agility, and wisdom. Oh well, you live and you learn, I guess..

Anyway, I have taken Drassen, Chitzena, Cambria, and by som stroke of luck/patience, Grumm mine and 1 more sector, which was enough to train militia there.

And now for the ugly part... Some big, ugly insects have started to come out of the mine to slaughter soldiers and civilians alike, and the workers don't dare going down there. No profits = no good, so down into the mine I went.

Alas, due to my inexperience with the game, I only cleared the top level (both sectors), since I didn't know there were more.

I left town to take care of Balime and Alma, and the insects started attacking again, which the militia was only barely able to handle. So back I went to train more fighting monkeys, and try to find a more permanent solution to the bug infestation.