A couple questions

0zzymandias

This is my first time playing X-COM and I find much of it pretty intuitive. However I'm having a little trouble understanding the combat systems. Firstly, intercepting UFOs in the Geoscape interface. My question is when the Interceptors finally close with the UFO and the "Intercept" window (I believe) pops up it seems it only appears for a short time and then quickly disappears. Then the UFO moves away from my aircraft. Is this playing out as intended? Is it that I'm suppose to know the buttons before hand and make a decision as to a method of attack as fast as possible? Or am I just doing something wrong? Secondly, I think I managed to down one UFO but it may have just landed on it's own (altitude read "ground"). I sent a sky ranger to investigate with 8 soldiers on it. I had 2 of them move down the ramp who were killed in short order. I didn't see any aliens or anything. What did I do wrong? Just unlucky, or bad preperation? Any help anyone could offer would be appreciated, thanks.

This is my first time playing X-COM and I find much of it pretty intuitive. However I'm having a little trouble understanding the combat systems. Firstly, intercepting UFOs in the Geoscape interface. My question is when the Interceptors finally close with the UFO and the "Intercept" window (I believe) pops up it seems it only appears for a short time and then quickly disappears. Then the UFO moves away from my aircraft. Is this playing out as intended? Is it that I'm suppose to know the buttons before hand and make a decision as to a method of attack as fast as possible? Or am I just doing something wrong?