Strange things in X-COM

Zombie

Ok, first off, I'm happy to announce, you CAN open doors without walking through them. :P

Secondly, I'm sad to announce that SO FAR, I have only been able to get it to work on the PSX version. :(

I'm still struggling, though, so it's not the death-knell yet.

Here's what you do: Get your soldier and position him next to the door, facing it (duh). Then put your cursor on the other side of the door. Bring up your shoot/throw/use menu thing, choose something so that the cursor is now the target instead of the box, ok? Then tap R1 a few times quickly. The cursor should revert to being the usual rectangular box and the door should open.

I'm working on my speech for X-Com's "Man of the Year" award, don't worry.

Opening a door without stepping over the threshold in the PlayStation is hardly a new phenomenon or development. I have been touting it's use since 1997 when I found out this trick, and publicly on this website since May of this year. The only thing I never did was explain how to do it (pretty simple actually). Here are my posts listing this capability:

Zombie Posted: May 30 2004, 01:30 AM 

If doors were opened during the aliens round, the soldier right at the door opens it without stepping inside. (Do you see why I like playing UFO on PSX? This tactic is impossible in the PC version!) If he sees an alien, he shoots at it - usually killing it. If he was unable to log the kill, one of his buddies will pick up the slack and mop up!

Zombie Posted: Jun 18 2004, 02:13 AM 

Let me add a little here:

In the PC version of this game you cannot just open a door. You have to completely step through, which sucks! You should be able to right-click just beyond the door to open it - like the PSX version allows.

Zombie Posted: Jun 23 2004, 02:52 AM 

The "Just Open Door" is for PSX users only.