Is anyone still playing?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 booyaa

booyaa

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 February 2009 - 01:55 PM

Hi all

just found this forum and was wondering if anyone was still playing?
Some of the old timers may remember as me I actualyl won the first unity league back when Eisley(or jimmy of the yewhaw as I call him!) was running it!
So if anyone fancies a game I'm in - providing that 'world of stuart's' 'patch' works of course...

Cheers

Booyaa

#2 Gimli

Gimli

    Dances with Mutons

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,036 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

Posted 17 February 2009 - 09:22 PM

We recently discussed E-mail X-Com, but I suggest asking Pete more about it. ;)

#3 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 17 February 2009 - 09:42 PM

I still have all the tournament files (Eisley's tournament files as I ran it for while afterwards) and would love to get it all up and running again, but I have a feeling it may not play well on Vista.

Still, I have XP on my laptop so that should work.

What's the patch you're talking about?
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.

#4 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    The Smily Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:53 AM

This I assume.

The "patch link" goes to X-Com Tactical Command.

I am most amused. Still more by the instructions as to how to play with no patches at all.  ;)
BB's X-Com Projects Page - X-Com Games At GamersGate
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me :P
We love Tammy! :)

#5 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 18 February 2009 - 06:24 PM

Well that doesn't work on Vista either. Don't see any .xem files appear anywhere on my hard drive and I followed those instructions to the letter this time :)

Yup, I didn't click OK before checking ;)
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.

#6 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    The Smily Admin

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)

Posted 19 February 2009 - 03:19 AM

I commandeered my landlord's Vista laptop for a test, worked fine.  ;)

But, I can think of a couple of things that might be affecting you. Vista is very anal about security. Check the permissions on that "temp" folder, make sure the Everyone group has Full Control of it.

If that doesn't work, try right clicking the program's executable and check if there's a "Run as Administrator" mode or something there.

It occurs to me that tankman's patch probably relies on the XEM file appearing in that Temp folder too.
BB's X-Com Projects Page - X-Com Games At GamersGate
You're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me :P
We love Tammy! :)

#7 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:15 PM

That's what I was thinking. The only other thig it did (which was quite neat) was work out the name of the map and (I think) who it was from and who it was to. I think. I could be wrong.

I'll have another fiddle at the weekend. T'is likely just Sectoids plotting against my PC.
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.

#8 booyaa

booyaa

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 February 2009 - 09:07 PM

cool just popped back and noticed you guys had replied ;)

I couldn't get the 'world of stuart' version to work and I don't have the original 'patched' no-server version that Adrian S gave me back when we were all playing... any ideas anyone?

PS I might well bring this back for iPhone ...

PPS I run Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com

#9 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 23 February 2009 - 06:40 PM

It's probably just not uninstalled everything it installed the first three times BB. I'll do a clean sweep of any files and registry entries it may have loaded and try again.

@booyaa - If you bring it back for the iPhone, can you do mer a huge favour and make it work on the G1 android (linux-based) as I've just bought one? ;) Pocket PC would be another good port.

In fact, I'd just settle for a working version in Vista if you're thinking of going down that road :)

Ah, the mode games developers the merrier! If ever you do any strategy games that might fall under our remit and want us to post any news, give us a shout.
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.

#10 Doug

Doug

    Snakeman

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:U.K.

Posted 14 March 2009 - 10:41 AM

Quote

In fact, I'd just settle for a working version in Vista if you're thinking of going down that road :laugh:

Ah, the mode games developers the merrier! If ever you do any strategy games that might fall under our remit and want us to post any news, give us a shout.


Hi People - I was passing and thought you might like to know that a clean install from the original CD works on my Vista 64bit PC. Been playing using the "World of Stuart" method since last year.

Anybody fancy a game?

:D
Cheers

Doug.

#11 Pete

Pete

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,890 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buckley, North Wales

Posted 15 March 2009 - 09:30 AM

Hi Doug! How's tricks?

I'll have to try and wipe all trace from my PC and give it another whirl but I'd love a game.
May your terror missions always be infested with Chrysalids.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users