Smoke Grenades Revisited

Zombie

Recently, NKF posted a link to his website, which had some test games ready for downloading. One of them was smoke grenades. Here is a link if you do not have a saved game to play around with: NKF's smoke grenade test game

When I was a newbie to X-COM, I never used smoke grenades. Why? Well, there were a few reasons. First, I guess I just did not know how to use them strategically. "Where should I throw one"?, "When should I throw one"?, and "Why should I throw one"? were the three questions that always seemed to pop up for me. Second, when I did use one, the smoke appeared to help the aliens out as much as it helped my troops. Third, using smoke grenades for prolonged periods of a mission really take a toll on your unarmored soldiers. Standing in smoke will eventually stun a soldier. Even using smoke as an emergency "stun weapon" had little value; I had to dump quite a few smoke grenades on a target to get it to fall over. It's no wonder why so many people do not use them!

When NKF invited anyone to test out smoke grenades in his experimental saved game, I was skeptical. On a whim, I downloaded the game. I thought, "It should be interesting, and at least a good time waster". I never got around to playing the game, until now. Boy was I surprised! Maybe I was too young, too stupid, too ignorant, or too hasty to judge in my early playing days. Now, when I used smoke grenades, things were different. :(

If anyone is doubtful that smoke grenades actually work, first open your mind to new ideas. Second, test them out in NKF's game, or read how others use them in the previous smoke grenade thread: Smoke Grenade, Does any one use them?.

Some interesting facts about smoke grenades:

1) Smoke from a smoke grenade initially affects a 13x13-diameter area.

2) Smoke lingers for approximately 15 rounds, after that everything is back to normal.

3) Smoke spreads. Rate to be determined.

4) Peering into smoke is harder than peering out.