S2 Skill Mod?

Duality

I just found this game and I love it, however, the skill progression thing is driving me nuts. You never get to use high level medical/engineering items and the guys who sit on their hands in the base all day are about 50% better then the team I've been using since the start of the game. What gives?

Is there a mod out there that fixes either/both of these things? I did an internet search, and a forum search but I couldn't find anything. I tried quickly looking around the editor but I couldn't figure out how I might edit something like skill progression. If there isn't a mod out there that does this, how might one go about using the editor to do it?

Welcome to the boards! :D

It's been too long since I studied the mods in our files section, but one of them is named "Easier Medical and Engineering Items" :) . Not all you asked for, but combined with some of the others there you might get close.

Thank you :)

I have the easier items mod, but even with it, the higher level engineer/medical items are still beyond use for the most part.

How difficult is it to change something like skill growth with the editor?

I have no idea. I never tried modding it. Once you've managed to set up the editor, I think it's fairly simple to change values of guns etc. Changing the skill growth etc. I wouldn't know. Ask one of the posters in this thread for instance (or I'm sure they'll tell you here if they stumble across the topic).

Well, off the top of my head, I can think of 4 (possibly more ways of handling this):

1. Changing medical and engineering item's properties/ requirements. If I remember correctly it is somewhere in RPG items's tables. This one is most likely the easiest)

2. Messing with S3Constants table (never tried, so don't know for sure)

3. Script (at the base location, for instance)

Maybe one of these functions could be of use:

int UnitGetSkill( unit, nSkill )