an alternate EASY way to run XCOM Apoc on WinXP SP2

mackal

If you also get yourself Alcohol 120% you can burn the CD to an ISO file and mount it within Virtual PC (after you've used the original CD to install the game), so you're effectively creating a fake CD drive using the ISO file, and Virtual PC is non the wiser.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have never done alcohol before, on computers or in real life.

I would probably need a bit of a tutorial or a link to one someplace, when it comes to Alcohol 120.

Is Alcohol a freeware program or something you guys have bought? Studying that side of the thing could probably take me as long as my long convoluted DOSBox list took me, knowing me and how slow I sometimes am to getting things going.

--

Hopefully, when Aralez gets it working, Aralez will come back in here with a more detailed tutorial, including links for the Alcohol ISO image side of things, along with tips as to what he did to get around it or what he did to implement it.

--

X-Com Apocalypse just wasn't like the others.

For the other DOS games, I just created separate DOSBox shortcut for each game, changed cycles=max in the master dosbox.conf file, and they all ran just fine after getting them properly installed. It was just so much more simple with the other DOS games -- fire and forget.

With X-Com Apocalypse, you have to do so much more, either Alcohol ISO image for Virtual PC 2007, or the long convoluted bug fixing route that I went through to get it to run under DOSBox, if you want it to run and run completely from the hard drive.

There is a trial version of Alcohol 120%. I'll have to check out whether it can make the ISO file before the trial expires, or it's a bit useless.

My long-term aim is to check out various ways of getting things running through Virtual Machine and then post up some proper tutorials on the main StrategyCore site.