A cartoon?

etz

Hi all. I don't know if this has already been discussed, sorry if it has.

I'm new to the ufo series, only played aftermath a LOT and liked it but I know that many of you sigh when thinking of the good 'ol times with xcom and such - uhm actually tried a couple of dos revamps but, well :-)....

What i want to say is that basically my experience is pretty new compared to others. what I can say is that I am 34, and have played a LOT of games, preferably strategy, and have a love for tactical turn based shooters such as Fallout Tactics, Silent Storm, Jagged alliance Series, and (only, sigh) UFO Aftermath.

Well, here is my opinion: what i really enjoyed about aftermath is the noir setting, the atmosphere is just so great that when an alien appears i remember I actually used to jump on my seat. On the other hand, if i were one of these guys (even if marine or else) going on a trek waiting to meet the odd monster who can chomp your head off... I would feel very vulnerable... Simple humans (ok also aliens and such but..) made of flesh and bones going into the fray against the unknown... I just love it.

Along with music and sounds, graphics has a great play here of course, as you can imagine, but I don't mean from a technology point of view: Aftermath had dated graphics and wasn't really looking particularly good: the soldiers were little, resolution settings of scarce quality etc., But although all these drawbacks, these guys looked "real" humans, somehow bringing to life their fears, the setting and atmosphere...

So there you have explained why I don't think much of these screenshots :)

I am not saying I don't like the game, heavens! it still has to be released, and probably I will also buy it... Iit's just that the start is not looking particularly good, and fears from the past (Aftershock) take shape....

Ahhh so much potential is there but just out of reach!!! :-)