26 replies to this topic

#21 Dumb_Commander

Dumb_Commander

Addicted to Fan Fiction

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts

Posted 12 May 2007 - 01:51 PM

I mean the alien sonic weaponry, and the explanation the green sonic bolts.

#22 uriaheep

uriaheep

Inflatable Halfwit Salesman

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts

Posted 12 May 2007 - 06:04 PM

View PostDumb_Commander, on 12th May 2007, 2:51pm, said:

I mean the alien sonic weaponry, and the explanation the green sonic bolts.
Your memory is failing DC, we had a chinwag about this sometime ago.
Here

A simple explanation of how resonance could work as a weapon is to consider waves on a lake.  As the waves roll gently to the shore they will swell and fall in synchrony with each other but if you make counter waves by throwing a brick into the pond then where they meet violence can be seen.
I'm no scientist but as a musician, strings of a guitar can be tuned together by synchronising the resonance.  If two strings vibrate out of resonance they sound and 'feel' bad.

Then consider in water, the power of sound waves would be increased by the weight of the water - sea water is heavier than fresh water too, therefore increasing damage potential.

On saying that, I suspect in real life it would be almost imposible to isolate and direct sound as water is such a good conductor of sound.
LAST OF A DYING BROOD.

#23 Tepid tasoth

Tepid tasoth

Seafood

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 09:51 PM

Uriaheep may be a genius if it's possible to use sound waves to change the density of the medium carrying the sound. Light refraction may account for the green color then!

Edit: just read the topic you linked an it looks like both of us had the same idea w/ that refraction stuff.

#24 Skonar

Skonar

What Would Gearhead Do?

• Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 172 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 10:02 PM