I love this game!

FullAuto

I was a bit dubious about this game. I started playing, and the first mission was over in a few minutes.

I liked the additions, the weight limit, the AP cost for switching weapons and kit etc, but the second mission seemed, at the very beginning, to need you to rely on luck. Five men, and you've got one grenade? With you starting so close to them, it's a case of throw grenade, run and get seriously wounded or run and get lightly wounded.

After that, though...oh baby. The game really opens up. Talk to folk, set up a little militia (which were totally slaughtered but hey, they armed themselves), take jobs from people to kill other people, intimidate, ambush and decide on your own course of action. Swish.

Loved Peter Claus' attempted intimidation.

"Ve vill start vith all ze money you haff on you."

"Er, no."

*murderise the lot of them*

"Thank you for all the money and weapons, Santa Claus. Ho ho ho."

Thanks again, Pete. ;)

Commiserations, mate. ;)

One bad point: The music. I didn't know they had invented cock rock in Europe in 1949. My musical history knowledge obviously isn't as good as I thought it was. They should stop putting jarring anachronisms in these games.

Yeah, I never understood the point of reviewing the unpatched version. They'll argue that most people play the retail version, but if there's a patch out by the time you review it the readers should have the good sense to install it.

Yeah, I always wondered that about reviewers - it's like they're lazy or something. All they have to do in their opening paragraph is say something like "whilst you'll have a hard time with certain aspects playing it straight out of the box, the latest patch fixes X, Y and Z" and then go on to write a fairer review.

I don;t recall seeing an unpatched game in the last few years except those where developers/publishers refuse to make one.

One thing I don't love is the weapon deterioration.