Why can't we ever have decent AI?

Slaughter

• 2 months later...

While I'm no AI programmer, I am studying software engineering and want to make a turn-based game sometime in the future, just for fun. Of course, that means I'll eventually have to develop an AI for it as well (right now, even the core engine is less than 10% complete). I also almost never play multiplayer myself, so I have experience with the AI of lots of games (mostly strategic ones).

There were some AIs that show promise, despite not actually being all that good. One such example I've seen is the AI of Dawn of War:

• It adapts its army composition to counter the player's. If its anti-infantry soldiers are getting decimated by my tanks, it starts to roll out anti-vehicle infantry and melee walkers.
  • It doesn't waste troops on minor probing attacks but keeps building up its army, attacking only once it outguns me or once I aggro it. If either of those conditions are met, its entire army attacks all at once in a huge wave, so no luring individual units away for piecemeal annihilation.
  • In team games versus a single human player (like most campaign missions), attacking one AI instantly aggroes its teammates as well. So if you build up your army and attack one AI, the other will counterattack your base while you're away. AI teammates also tend to gang up on the same player to ensure a kill overwhelming numerical superiority; I've played several human-vs-AI 3v3 matches before and saw multiple instances of all three AI players attacking the same human player simultaneously.
  • It concentrates fire on low-health targets but splits firepower to take advantage of hard counters. If a mixed army of anti-infantry and anti-tank guys are fighting an infantry blob who suddenly get armored support, the anti-tank guys immediately switch targets.