X-Com Collector's Edition


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#41 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 21 June 2003 - 11:27 AM

That's bloody false advertising. The site we ordered it from clearly labled it as "Collector's Edition", and I'm pretty sure the box did, too.

#42 Alan

Alan

    The Voice Of Reason & DB Repair Fairy

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 21 June 2003 - 12:01 PM

There are two collectors editions. One has ufo, tftd, and apoc. the other has ufo, tftd, apoc, interceptor, and email x-com.

the second (bigger) one is the one containing the windows versions of ufo. if yuou can then grab a copy of it... it tends to work more often.

anyway... making the dos version go.....
*searches for old soldout edition of UFO*
damnit, why can't i find things when i need them! :(

anyway, you missdat folder in the ufo directory... how many files are in it?
there should be somewhere around 40 i think. and it should be about 67.0KB.

i ask because a simmilar problem happened when i weas playing my old version (before i got CE) it crashed whenever a base was placed, and said it was missing files. of course this was in 98 so what with you using XP the full error message may be lost or summut.... anyway, if it is that then it's solveable.
A Target_Tinboy production

#43 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 21 June 2003 - 12:04 PM

There's 33 files, and 47 K.

Do you have AIM? If so, think you could send me the files I need, once I say what I have? If not, I'll have to clean out my inbox.

Anyway, I have ACT5.dat, AKNOW.dat, ALIEN.dat, ASTORE.dat, BASE.dat, BPROD.dat, CRAFT.dat, DIPLOM.dat, DUM.bin, FACIL.dat, GEODATA.dat, IGLOB.dat, INTER.dat, LEASE.dat, LIGLOB.dat, LOC.dat, MISSION.dat, MISSIONS.dat, OBPOSREF.dat, PRODUCT.dat, PROJECT.dat, PURCHASE.dat, RESEARCH.dat, SAVEINFO.dat, SOLDIER.dat, TRANSFER.dat, UIGLOB.dat, UNIPOS.dat, UNIREF.dat, UP.dat, XBASES.dat, XCOM.dat, and ZONAL.dat

#44 NKF

NKF

    Mr. Badger in disguise

  • Site Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my mind

Posted 21 June 2003 - 01:01 PM

All the files in the missdat directory are just temporary files. You can safely delete them and the game will regenerate them when necessary.

- NKF
NKF, narrow minded fuddy duddy who refuses to let go of the past and will not accept anything newer than 1979.

#45 Alan

Alan

    The Voice Of Reason & DB Repair Fairy

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 21 June 2003 - 04:56 PM

yes, we kow this.... be for some reason it complains occasionally if said dir is empty. thus sticking stuff there makes it go.
As odd as it sounds it worked. for me that is when i tried it.
basically what i did was:
1.start up ufo
2. goto load
3. load an empty slot (odd, but it works)
4. save without doing anything. (no base,no nothing)
5. copy the savegame folder where you saved it into missdat folder.

it follows about the same logic that makes HEX stop working if you forget to initialise the FTB.... but it might work.
(terry pratchett reference: the HEX (think discworld take on a pc) stops working if you take away it's fluffy teddy bear)

anyway, NKF knows more about ufo than me... so yes, listen to him.
A Target_Tinboy production

#46 NKF

NKF

    Mr. Badger in disguise

  • Site Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my mind

Posted 21 June 2003 - 11:23 PM

And to think it started off as a calculator that could calculate simple things like 2+2 = 4...

Well, there might be something to that. I did hear that some people solved this problem by loading a savegame with a base that's already been placed.

Actually, I have the same base crash problem with the collectors edition on my older computer. I guess it just does this on certain computer setups. Never really thought about trying it (loading a file) myself, because CE locks the old computer up rather than crashing to the desktop or returning a GPF.

- NKF
NKF, narrow minded fuddy duddy who refuses to let go of the past and will not accept anything newer than 1979.

#47 Fox

Fox

    A gentleman and a scholar.

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts

Posted 22 June 2003 - 01:25 AM

Ok...  I got the game to work at least semi-smooth on XP with the hardware accel toned down, and running in compatibility mode... but the game still runs TERRIBLY FAST.  I can't even scroll around in the battlescape, I can't shoot down UFOs because the interception goes so fast they just escape.  WTF?
QUOTE
Posted by Jellyfish Green
Blaster Launcher tactics: a brief guide.

Building: Nuke it.
Orchard: Nuke it.
Underground bases: Nuke large rooms first.
UFO: Punch a hole in the bridge, then send in a second bomb to nuke it.

#48 Jman4117

Jman4117

    Captain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Moomew's House

Posted 22 June 2003 - 02:24 AM

Get a slow down program.
I use Turbo, but if you have a really fast PC you may need one that can go below 1%, but in my case it's 70%.
"Guns aren't toys. They're for family protection, hunting dangerous or delicious animals, and keeping the King of England out of your face."
-- Krusty the Clown, "The Simpsons"

#49 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 22 June 2003 - 04:11 AM

Like I said, I copied a savegame from another computer and ran it on this one, and it worked until I got to a battle, where it'd crash as soon as I stepped off the skyranger.

#50 NKF

NKF

    Mr. Badger in disguise

  • Site Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my mind

Posted 22 June 2003 - 07:48 AM

Ah, yes, that's ye olde crash-as-you-step-out-of-skyranger bug. It shouldn't be related, but it is yet another bug with unknown causes with no set methods of getting around -- as the solutions can vary from system to system.

If only they'd release the source code so us programming nuts can fix most of the errors and put in a proper frame rate controller...

- NKF
NKF, narrow minded fuddy duddy who refuses to let go of the past and will not accept anything newer than 1979.

#51 MicahDG

MicahDG

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 22 June 2003 - 08:17 AM

Fox, on Jun 22 2003, 02:25 AM, said:

Ok...  I got the game to work at least semi-smooth on XP with the hardware accel toned down, and running in compatibility mode... but the game still runs TERRIBLY FAST.  I can't even scroll around in the battlescape, I can't shoot down UFOs because the interception goes so fast they just escape.  WTF?
Have you tried Turbo yet?

http://www.xcomufo.com/turbo.zip




user posted image

#52 The Demi-Godly One

The Demi-Godly One

    Gutseneintsenboughging all the time!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 550 posts

Posted 22 June 2003 - 12:23 PM

In some cases turbo won't work though... :(
3.14. Mmm, pi.

#53 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 23 June 2003 - 06:44 AM

Hey, I'm wondering...Could someone make a game on eginner with one base in Europe and nothing lse done to it for me? When I did it before, I didn't know about hardware acceleration, so it might work. Very doubtfully, but it might. Contact information should be in my profile.

#54 Alan

Alan

    The Voice Of Reason & DB Repair Fairy

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 23 June 2003 - 10:47 AM

surely.... but your the contact details required to send such things are not in your profile (email addresses are not visible... and the via forum mail thingy does do attachments).

send me a pm with your email address and i'll send it to you.
A Target_Tinboy production

#55 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 23 June 2003 - 11:03 AM

Well, my Aim name is in there, which can be used just as easily. But I'll send you the pm anyway.

#56 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 25 June 2003 - 07:25 AM

Bleh. I got your E-Mail, and replaced the files (Missdat was indeed missing a few), but now whenever I step off the skyranger, the mission ends and it gives me the stats of the last mission you did, which was apparently a Terror mission, and gives me the transport you used, which is useless since I have no elerium.

#57 bevan

bevan

    BACK! This time with less class!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts

Posted 25 June 2003 - 10:43 AM

xcomutil should fix that annoying problem (where the text comes up then skips to the debriefing)
Wearing my Boots of Butt Kicking and knocking on the forum's door

Urban Dead: PM me on the forums! I am Seyan! Hear me roar!

#58 NKF

NKF

    Mr. Badger in disguise

  • Site Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my mind

Posted 25 June 2003 - 10:55 AM

XComutil fixes or works around plenty of things, but the crash as you step out of the skyranger bug (and various battlescape related mystery crashes) isn't one of them. XComutil can only work on files in between the game's two primary executables. It can't do anything about memory leaks and other logic errors that occur during the execution of the game.

- NKF

A little off topic and outright blatant advertising: I've created a little archive of some of the previous avatars I used on this forum. It's on my crummy Yahoo!Geocities webpage (currently accessible via my www link -- I think I got the URL right this time. I'd inserted an extra directory name when I hadn't been using one). If anyone's interested...well, there you go.
NKF, narrow minded fuddy duddy who refuses to let go of the past and will not accept anything newer than 1979.

#59 Jh316

Jh316

    Nobody important

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Claxton, Georgia.

Posted 25 June 2003 - 11:01 AM

I dunno what you mean by "Where the text comes up". I step off the skyranger, and it goes straight to the debriefing thingy, with nothing but the normal momentary black screen in-between.

#60 NKF

NKF

    Mr. Badger in disguise

  • Site Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In my mind

Posted 25 June 2003 - 11:24 AM

He means the mode-13h text appearing on the screen. It's just a memory dump to show where the error occured. Sadly, to us mere mortals, it's gibberish. Assembly gurus might find it interesting.

Sometimes you get the text, sometimes you don't. Either way the current game executable was terminated. The text normally appears when the program exits because of an error of some sort (divide by zero, memory overflow, general protection fault, etc).

What's happening is that you've gone from one bug, only to come face to face with another bug that's plagued most X-Com UFO players for ages. From various responses here and there, the most common method for clearing this problem is to restart the computer. Others mention that the problem just clears up after a while. There aren't any specific solutions for this bug, so it's hard to say how you'll get this problem fixed.

Here's a thought -- for the Skyranger, it's usually the spot immediately after the equipment pile that causes the crash. Try moving on the right side when disembarking. It might not help your case in particular, but it's worth a try. It's a million to one chance, but it just might work.

- NKF
NKF, narrow minded fuddy duddy who refuses to let go of the past and will not accept anything newer than 1979.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users