Scavenge vs. Research

GigiDuru

I find that weapon research and manufacture is discouraged in the game (especially in the initial part, that is where I am). While being days before discovering sniper rifles, I hired a human with sniper training and she came with... you guessed, a sniper rifle.

And almost every weapon I discovered by now, I already had one or two pieces from hired personnel or scavenging (especially cultists).

Now I'm manufacturing a machine gun and it takes long in computer-time, but I think that if I hire a human with heavy equipment training he / she will ba carrying a machine gun. This way it is times fast (and possibly cheaper too) to hire armed personnel, confiscate their weapons and dismiss them (unarmed in this cruel world :) ).

Does this change later in the game ? That is, is there equipment you really need to research without any other way to get it?

I am still somewhat new to this game so not sure if my point of view is anygood

but I think what you may be seeing when you hire someone is that is part of the idea of where the reseach idea came from

or, you find a SMG, take it back to base and the tech guy is saying, hmmm, that is a interesting Idea, I bet we could do that too, and then goes to work (if you select it to reseach)

I think the reseach idea in the game is not really the right term, it is not trying to think and figure out how a weapon would work, but how it would be made

you may find 20 of them, but you still build any of them, until you figure out how to build it (reseach)

?????

I am still somewhat new to this game so not sure if my point of view is anygood

but I think what you may be seeing when you hire someone is that is part of the idea of where the reseach idea came from

or, you find a SMG, take it back to base and the tech guy is saying, hmmm, that is a interesting Idea, I bet we could do that too, and then goes to work (if you select it to reseach)