Editor doesn't work


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 PlasticFork

PlasticFork

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 October 2005 - 12:37 PM

When I start up the Editor, a box comes up saying:

Quote

Cant open "MSSQLSERVER" service:
The specified service does not exist as an installed service.

I've got S2, and S3 (Gold Edition), with the S2 and Editor 1.2 patches installed :P.

#2 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 18 October 2005 - 01:35 PM

PlasticFork, on 18th October 2005, 2:37pm, said:

When I start up the Editor, a box comes up saying:
I've got S2, and S3 (Gold Edition), with the S2 and Editor 1.2 patches installed :P.

You need Microsoft's MSDE installed, I think.

http://www.microsoft...ds/default.mspx

Knan

#3 KoMik

KoMik

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Finland

Posted 20 October 2005 - 02:34 PM

You can find it from the CD also. Try to find a folder "BIN". Editor's Manual describe the installing...

#4 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:52 PM

First of all, where can I find this so-called editor!?! Everyone talks about it, yet nobody says where it can be found. It's not in our files section, at least, I don't think it is. I looked in my Gold Edition discs and don't see anything resembling an editor. Is it in the Tools folder in the Silent Storm directory? If so, that's a poorly named folder. :laugh:

Once this is established (and only after this is established), then I have another question.

How do I install this stupid MS SQL Server thingy? I found it on the first disc in the Bin --> MSDE folder but there are no real install instructions. What do I click on? "Setup.exe"? I don't see an "Editors manual" either. Where is that? (Murphy's Law dictates it's probably on disc 3 which I don't have have installed). :D

Also, why do I need MS SQL? Why wasn't the editor programmed to be a stand-alone application rather than requiring other (useless and unnecessary) programs to run? Why is the data in S2 in a database rather than encoded into an xml or text file? Why make it so hard for a modder? :D

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#5 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 14 April 2009 - 06:05 PM

The editor is an option that must be selected during game install. At least on S2 standalone, don't have Gold.

And yes, you need MSDE. Just use setup.exe and reboot, there's really no UI to it.

Can't be much more helpful, as MSDE won't run on Linux, thus no editor for me.

#6 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 14 April 2009 - 10:44 PM

I performed an uninstall/repair on S2 and the Editor is indeed installed. Just for giggles, I installed S3. Same deal, the editor is installed (however I can't start S3 for some reason). Both have a "tools" directory, which is where I assume the editor should be. There are four files in there: DataImport.exe, FontGen.exe (fonts), PkgBuilder.exe and TexConv.exe (textures). Is this so called "Editor" named DataImport or PkgBuilder? Again, if it is, it's a stupid name for an editor. Tried running both of them at a command prompt, but there are issues. The PkgBuilder requires parameters (pkgFile and a source directory), which I know nothing about, and the DataImport file causes the command prompt screen to hang forcing me to do a ctrl-c to break the loop. :D

Please don't tell me this editor is a command line driven utility. C'mon, Nival couldn't create a user interface for it? Plus it requires "bloatware" (MS SQL) too? I'm at a loss for words really. All this song and dance just to edit a few values? Certainly isn't modder friendly, that's for sure. Heck, X-COM is more mod friendly then. :D :laugh:

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#7 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 14 April 2009 - 11:27 PM

Huh? It definitely is right in front of your nose somewhere. Not in tools at all (though there are utils there you'll need after you get acquanted with MapEdit if you get into modding)

There's a menu item in the windows menu called "S2 Editor" here. Which points to MapEdit.exe in the main S2 directory.

I also have a EditorManual directory, which you were searching for?

Did you install the editor patch as well, btw? There's a game patch v1.2 and a editor patch v1.2. No idea if they are needed with Gold. :laugh:

#8 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 15 April 2009 - 12:54 AM

MapEdit? Yeah I have that. Kind of ill-named though, no? Anyway, it's running now. Looking to edit stats and MapEdit doesn't do that I'm afraid. It mostly deals with sound, maps, character loadouts etc. :laugh:

I haven't installed any patches to the game or the editor. Not even sure if they are really necessary, but my Gold edition of Silent Storm says 1.1. :D

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#9 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 15 April 2009 - 04:24 PM

Hmm. Editing stats of items, etc would be
http://www.strategyc...ding-t3136.html

I think. +S2AddMod if you want your new, wonderful mod to affect existing saves.

Save game editing as such? No idea, never tried that on S2.

And yes, you'll want the patches, then. :laugh:

#10 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 16 April 2009 - 02:18 AM

Well, I upgraded to v1.2. Surprisingly, my troops are getting very familiar with their weapons now. It's almost intolerable. My hero scout used a Combat Dagger to kill a couple enemies, then trained the melee stat with it for the rest of the mission. She's up to a familiarity of 7! In one stinking mission! I'm not complaining, but it seems like the fix went to the opposite end of the spectrum to eliminate a problem. A question though: can a unit be familiar with more than one weapon? Say, proficient in a knife and a pistol? I tried training shooting with a sniper rifle but my scout still has a familiarity of 0 for it. Guess not. Still, it would have been nice to get proficient in more than one weapon class. :laugh:

Haven't been able to pull stats from the game though. Got as far as configuring my computer to use MS SQL (it's running in the background right now). Beyond that though, I'm lost. The instructions are too complicated and poorly written. Plus they focus on MS Access which I do not have. :D

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#11 Kizmiaz

Kizmiaz

    Battling in Arulco, kalypso style

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Badsville, Ostrogothia

Posted 16 April 2009 - 06:15 AM

View PostZombie, on 16th April 2009, 4:18am, said:

A question though: can a unit be familiar with more than one weapon? Say, proficient in a knife and a pistol? I tried training shooting with a sniper rifle but my scout still has a familiarity of 0 for it.
In my experience the scout seems to raise their sniper skill very slowly, so I usually focus them on melee and silenced weapons.
On the other hand, I just completed the Mysterious complex in Ural mountains with a sniper equipped with the silenced Mauser M98 and a Welrod. I finally managed to get a few familiarity points with the Mauser, happily sniping renegades in the perimeter,  but they rapidly went down to 1 when I got inside the complex and started to use the Welrod, despite that I had both equipped.
I know the Fast familiarity perk speeds up increasing and decreasing but this seemed ludicrous. :laugh:
(And I never got any familiarity with the Welrod)

#12 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 16 April 2009 - 04:47 PM

Nope. Have your sniper cut down a forest with a machete, and sniper rifle familiarity will drop towards zero, then machete familiarity will start to rise. You can only have familiarity with one weapon at a time.

(though dynamite, grenades, mines and bare hands have no familiarity, afaik, so they might not mess things up for you.)

#13 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 16 April 2009 - 06:33 PM

I know for a fact that bare-handed melee attacks have no familiarity associated with it so you can use them freely and not worry about it affecting other weapons. That's nice, though bare-handed melee attacks really don't do much damage. At least, not at the levels I'm at now. It'll be hard to give up the combat dagger with it's quicker AP cost and bigger damage range in lieu of melee too. :)

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#14 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 17 April 2009 - 04:51 PM

Bare-handed melee has the very nice bonus that it may knock an enemy unconscious, though. I just noticed in this game.

*stab* *stab* *not enough ap, so left-handed punch* ... falls down, knocked out, bleeding, at critically wounded. Good thing, since he had a sten gun.  :)

Probably also works with the various clubs.

#15 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 17 April 2009 - 05:35 PM

I'll have to give this a try next time my scout is within range. Her melee is something like 62 now, so a few sucker punches should be a piece of cake. I seem to remember that Melee attacks can kill though. Hmmm... :)

The Billy Club and Black Jack Club both should do critical damage (assuming I'm understanding the stats correctly) so maybe those aren't the best for knocking units unconscious. But they do have very low numbers for the critical hit bonus (5), so maybe that is just the ticket.  :)

Edit: you may be right with the Melee attack not doing critical damage. I found the same thing: stab, stab, melee, melee --> unconscious. Needs more testing though. Oh, and I think HTH Melee attacks reduce familiarity of current weapons. My Combat Dagger dropped from 10 familiarity to 7 after a bunch of HTH attacks. :)

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#16 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 18 April 2009 - 12:06 AM

Huh? I never said that, as such.

But yes, there's a chance it may knock people out. Perhaps as a replacement for normal critical hits, perhaps in addition. Look for them collapsing and remaining in one of the "wounded" states, not "unconscious" (as that's generally an euphemism for ran out of health, will never rise again - point-blank machine gun victims are also "unconscious" when you mouse over them).

In testing, I had it happen to my grenadier. A third of the health bar still green, but collapsed and had his name turn red. Needed to be carried back to base.

Fun stuff. :)

#17 BlunterII

BlunterII

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California, USA

Posted 19 April 2009 - 12:37 AM

Hi, folks.

If I remember correctly - one can't modify character values in S^2, S^3 without accessing the database. For that you'd need MS Access.
In Hammer and Sickle (H&S) you'd be able to modify those and any of the other values (Weapon Statistics, Character base values, etc., etc.) from within the editor (no MS Access needed)

Again, in S^2, S^3 - each character is able to increase/decrease familiarity with only one weapon regarless of weapon class.
In contrast in H&S everyone is capable of developing familiarity with one weapon from each class, i.e. 1 melee, 1 handgun/pistol, 1 SMG, 1 rifle, 1 heavy weapon. Don't know about the Panzerkleins, they were removed from H&S. Thank goodness... :)
In S^2/S^3 hand to hand combat does decrease familiarity with any other weapon, while not having its own fam value.
I don't think it's the case in H&S though...

Hand to hand combat may indeed cause unconscious state unless a critical is scored.
In case of a critical you will see a "head explosion" in UK version of S^2, S^3 (nothing special in the US puritan release)  and with the medic's "see enemy health" perk there will also be something like "-3478" in health values. I am not sure about the possibility of reviving that person if you carry them to base, but huge negative health values in a enemy will fail the mission if that enemy were to be captured "alive"/ made uncoscious.


Just my 2 cents :)

Blunter

- BlunterMod v 2.4 ready for testing (MediaFire, rar) (5 versions of Splittermuster 45 uniform, unique versions of existing weapons, multiple game play changes, all default REs are scripted now, new lighting, several new scripted REs, HE rounds are temporarily gone - converted to 'surplus' ammo instead, 3 new enemy classes ("Grunt", "Zombie", "PK Operator"), all PKs have been overhauled (stronger, better, faster, auto-destruct) and a Soviet Intel subplot featuring Lt. Colonel Mikhalev from H&S ~ 7 missions) + v 2.3 full (without HE rounds)

- BlunterMod v2.3 ready for testing (MediaFire, rar) ---4 more uniforms, 1 new ammo type and a new weapon added, "Castle Linden" random crash fixed, a new area "The Bank" added to the Sentinel base, and various other changes + v 2.2 full (see ReadMe file for more info)

- BlunterMod v 2.2 ready for testing (MediaFire, rar) --- 20 new ammo types added (AP, HE, API, JHP), 7 unique weapons added, New RPG money items created, German Soldier Class characterss don't wear goggles + v 2.1 (full but without game-breaking bugs, hopefully)

- All Uniforms v 2.1 DO NOT USE (bugged) --- A Wave Defense "Castle" encounter, ammo and weapon name fixes, cheaper surplus uniforms, binoculars fix + v 2.0 (full)

- All Uniforms v 2.0 ready for testing (MediaFire, rar) --- 108 more uniforms + binoculars + v1.0 uniforms and changes (ReadMe for v 2.0)

- All Uniforms v 1.0 ready for testing (MediaFire, rar) --- 78 new uniforms (available from the base seller, prices vary) + various gameplay changes

- Silent Storm on Steam Greenlight has been approved 08/28/13!

- Available for purchase on Steam - "Silent Storm" + "Sentinels" page

_______________________________________________________
My Blogs: H&S blog and just funny book titles I created for my kids( unrelated to Silent Storm).

~Blunter~


#18 Zombie

Zombie

    Mr. Grognard of X-COM

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

Posted 19 April 2009 - 05:03 AM

Those 2 cents are made of gold. Great stuff, thanks for the explanation! :)

So, I can't access the database without MS Access? When I purchased my computer way back in 2002 I upgraded to MS Office Business which came with everything except for Access and Powerpoint. To get that, I would have needed to fork over at least $100 more which I wasn't prepared to do. (At the time I had no use for either one of them too). Is there a freeware program out there which functions like MS Access?

Sorry if I'm sounding like a broken record here, but Nival sure in heck didn't make S2 easily modable. I mean, how many people could afford the full MS Office Suite? (Or to purchase Access separately). Not only that, but if there isn't a free substitute out there, Nival was excluding a good portion of the prospective modders since you'd need a one-of-a-kind program to open up that section of the game. Baffles me beyond belief and is really annoying too. :)

- Zombie

My X-COM Patch Kit For UFO Defense | Emergency XCOM Meeting spoof on YouTube




JellyfishGreen said:

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!

#19 Knan

Knan

    Napalm squaddie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:XCOMOSL

Posted 20 April 2009 - 04:23 PM

You definitely can make mods without Access. Been there, done that. (MSDE + that blueshell data guy thingie)

But I don't think you can edit save games without it. I may be wrong, of course, it might just be even more involved.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users