Why I rarely play

GregDude

I love this game, but I rarely play it. After just finishing another mission, I realised why... A single mission can take 2-5 hours to complete. When do you ever sit down and think 'I've got 5 hours to kill'? I remember that some of the earlier similar games like X-Com and Jagged Alliance managed to fit a mission into 30min-1.5hrs. I think game/level designers really need to make games that can be played with 1 hand (to eat food with the other) and a 'session' can be played within 1 hour to fit a lunch break or night time. I have another strategy game called Galactic Civilization, which I play even less, a game can take upward of 10hrs! It's been a long time since I was a student and had that much free time, and then, I didn't have money to buy games anyway. At least I know a round of Unreal Tournament is going to last 20 minutes, I might just have a quick game of that.

I'd have to agree with GregDude here, although it's a fine balance. Whilst a lot of people love how challenging a mission can be, and the fact that it therefore takes so long to play, it can get REALLY annoying when you're still on the same mission three nights later.

In X-COM Apocalypse the Motherships and Battleships used to take an hour or so to clear and sometimes stretched to two hours if a stupid Skeletoid was hiding in one of the high up rooms with a cloaking field on him - I mean that was really tedious, but once you found out that that was the problem, it was all over.

Silent Storm missions can have you reloading, running all the way bck through maps looking for stuff and still sitting on the same mission three days later whilst other missions can take 10 minutes... you just can't win :huh: