X-COM PSX Controls

Fox

Hey so I finally got UFO on PSX. But what the eff are all the controls? I think I got the Geoscape mastered, but what are the damn controls for the Battlescape? I mean I can't even kneel ffs. Anyone care to enlighten me on how things work?

Uh, nevermind. I figured it out. And I also figured out there is a "POINT AND CLICK" interface. Which is about 100000 times easier. Does anyone know of a mouse for the playstation? That sure would be easy.

Fox: I've been playing X-COM on the Playstation for about 9 years now, so if you have any questions I probably know the answers. For instance: to open a door without stepping through, just press the circle button. You get the idea.

Yes, there is a Playstation mouse. I haven't used one yet, but I'm guessing that it is a whole lot easier than the standard controller. Me thinks the mouse plugs into the I/O slot on the back of the unit, not the controller port. :huh:

Here are a few general/Geoscape tricks I know.

When you first start the game, the Microprose name flashes up and then the trailer starts. To bypass these screens completely, simply press"X". That brings you directly to the starting screen.

If you accidentally start a new game with the hotspot interface selected, you'll see the globe after selecting the placement of your base. But if you want to get to the menu options to change to the point and click interface, press "select" twice. That should highlight the INTERCEPT menu option in light lavender. Now scroll down to OPTIONS, and do the switch. That's a whole lot easier than reloading the game!