Cheating...

Zeno

-- REVISED POST -- SHORTER -- FOR THOSE WHO DON'T WANT RED EYES --

Here's my answers:

I believe cheating disrupts personal growth because individuals cannot accurately predict everything that they need to know in the future. It also disrupts advancement of society, because if cheating is acceptable, then only a minority will bother to learn "required" material.

It is valuable to know more than just the minimum requirements to do your job.

The basic reason people cheat seems to be laziness (it's easier) and greed (wanting something for nothing).

As a teacher, I think about cheating more than I did as a student. I ignored it then, now I can't.

I think it's too easy for cheating to become a habit.

I did cheat on the listening/translating part of quizzes in my secondary school Spanish class.

I plan to reduce cheating in my classes by explaining my views to the students, then giving 0% on assignments when they cheat (so they know I'm serious).

I won't change my opinion about the cheating policy at my university, because if a university encourages cheating, then getting a degree becomes completely worthless.

(I like my long post better. This one has no explanation, and just doesn't have the same feeling to it at all... :D )

--Zeno

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you had a class that gave a 50% mark for not turning in an assignment, 0% for cheating, and a real mark between 51% and 100% for turning it in, would you cheat?

Assume this is a class that you would "normally" choose to cheat in. Also assume that a 50% is a failing grade.

Perhaps you would take the 50% grade for doing nothing, and only do the assignments you feel like doing? If you do a couple assignments and pass the exams, you could easily pull a D without having to cheat.

Or is the motivation to cheat simply too strong, since if you cheat, and *don't* get caught, you could get an A?

--Zeno