Quick movie reviews...

Slaughter

Seen this for games on another forum I frequent and liked the idea. I don't want to sit down and write long reviews for movies, as I'm not very good at it and have no time to read or write them. But a tread where people can post short ones is a good thing. Follow my setup and write a little review of a movie you like. One movie per post, and feel free to write several reviews!

Will start a tread for games and books as well soon if this turns out good. You can comment the movie reviews in this thread.

Mystic River (2003)

Director: Clint Eastwood

Novel: Dennis Lehane

Screenplay: Brian Helgeland

Cast: Sean Penn, Tim Robbins, Kevin Bacon, Laurence Fishburne.

Genre: Drama / Crime / Mystery

More info: IMDB

I don't know if it's me getting older or Hollywood getting worse but for some reason most of

the movies I watch these days rate from acceptable to bad. A good movie is rare, and a fantastic

movie is a miracle. Guess it's a combination... At any rate, what I find most important in most

movies is cast and story. Special effects and other cosmetic stuff is of virtually no importance.

Anyway, Mystic River follows 3 childhood friends when special circumstances bring them together

again as grown ups. They have walked very different roads in life, and had little or no contact.

The circumstances that bring them back together are not happy ones, and throughout the movie

we get a closer look at their past.

The cast is fantastic in Mystic River. Penn, Robbins and Bacon play the childhood friends, with

Fishburne as Bacon's fellow investigator. Strong performances by all of them and the additional

cast. You believe in the characters, and they fit the story well. And as it has a good story for

them to fit into, most of the important elements are covered.

Mystic River is a must see for anyone that likes the Drama / Crime genre. Has a very real life