Soldiers.... question

NCC-1701-F

Hey, some of you may remember me from UFO comme center, if you don't, hello. I've been playing UFO defense and TFTD for about 2 years now, and it really doesn't make sense that that, even if there are lower ranking soldiers that are, statistically, and experince wise, better, it will still promote the highest ranked person. Why????????

Also, if you could say any one line after you kill any of the bugs, what would it be????

And last, but not least, how many people would be interested in a version of x-com where you could also control the aliens, not just in tactical, but on geoscape too, and then do a multiplayer against a human opponent.

Promotion appear to work on a sort of round robin system. Who gets the highest promotion first, they'll get to wear the commander's lapels.

So we have soldiers Jane and Joe, and a couple hundred nameless rookies. Joe gets lucky in the first mission and is promoted , but soldier Jane is definitely the better soldier but was unable to make a few kills. After a couple of missions, even if soldier Joe doesn't see much action, and soldier Jane does all the work and has a kill count two, three or maybe four times greater than soldier Joe, soldier Joe will still be the higher rank.

It's a bit unfair, but that's what you get.

I suppose, if you look at it in a different perspective, it's quite a good system. The worst soldier gets to be the commander, so you have to keep them out of combat more often than not, while your front-line soldiers, who are vastly superior in every way, don't get such high ranks. So if they get killed, overall morale loss isn't so severe.

- NKF