Learning the editor for mapping purposes

requiem99

Greetings, I'm learning the editor due to my immense love of this game and the desire to create custom maps (I wish there was a "play custom map" feature in the game to ease the implementation of custom user maps), and I'd like to have some people to chat with on either irc or msn about mapping now and then, in case I have questions (or if you do, maybe I can help you)

I'm a newbie right now but I won't be for long, I learned to map for halflife very well and it seemed much more complicated at first than this does.

We'll see how it goes.

And also, hi everyone! :(

If you want to add me to msn, my email is abrock@angelfire.com

Hi, welcome aboard.

If yu just want to create maps it's pretty quick and easy to get into. In fact one of the great parts is beig able to model something (say a part of a house) and then use that as a template that you can drag onto other maps an stuff. it really speeds things up.

If you want to test your map, take note of it's ID number , and then in the game console you can load it.

Yea I'm having a few problems getting the editor to show all the objects, and it doesn't seem to want to add things in the traditional way, it just loads each object as if it were its own map. I'm gonna see if I can make a simple map by following the instructions in the other thread.

ahh.. well that's another thing altogether.

There are a couple of people reporting this problem. I'm not sure if anyone has actually talked to Nival about it though... I certainly haven't seen any mention of a solution.

I don't know enough about your setup to even guess.... but I'm going to :(

first guess ... if it's happening after a set amount of time, either something else on your computer is running and crashes it, or it's got a memory leak and is using up all your RAM.