ComboMod 3.0


  • Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

#21 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 09:56 PM

As i'm at the start of a new game right now, i don't have tested it yet. Did you add it to all weapons? Hm wil check out now....

#22 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:25 PM

With ComboMod 2 and ComboMod 3, if I am offered more than two new missions while my chopper is on the way to a mission, I get a Stalkwalk 6 Error at 30 percent while loading the tactical mission.

If I can seem to be lucky enough not to have all those new missions offered while on my way to a tactical mission, then I don't get the Stalkwalk 6 error.  It's basically a crash to desktop.  That's part of the reason why I gave up so quickly on the ComboMod2.  I get the same error with ComboMod 3, but I did manage to finally get a tactical mission to load without giving me the Stalkwalk 6 Error, and the SpecOps dudes eliminated my team in short order.

Definitely need to go in ready to throw grenades right from the start, and maybe have a dedicated person running a medipack all the time.  I do need new tactics.

When you toss a flare, they are stunned and then disappear for a few seconds, and then they reappear and start shooting.  It's kind of weird to have the enemy go invisible.

What else from my first mission with the ComboMod 3?

Oh, the only mod I'm running with is ComboMod3 mod.  The gamedata.vfs and launcherdata.vfs are the only other vfs files in the UFO Aftermath folder.

I have been running the English Version 1.4 of UFO Aftermath and Windows XP Service Pack 2 since before trying ComboMod2, and I'm sure that as usual, I'm the only one on the planet getting Stalkwalk errors with the ComboMods.

I have about got a new team put together, Wesson, Secto, and Cyborg Female.  Now if I can just get a Muton with some armor, I might be ready to try a new tactic against the SpecOps.

Oh yes, I just remembered my question.  There are still Reticulans in the ComboMod game later on, aren't there?  I guess I was hoping that the Reticulans haven't been completely replaced by the SpecOps, as I like the Reticulan's skinny little butts, as O'Neill in Stargate would say.

--

Edit:  Second Tactical mission, I went in with the Muton and Wesson, Secto, and Female Cyborg and a grenade and flare loadout.  They had Barrett sniper rifle, other sniper rifle, and neostead in the SpecOps among other goodies.  I fought to a draw, one of my guys left and one of theirs, and it offered to end, so I ended.  I might replay that one and try to use cover better.  It was a city mission, which gives you cover, and with cover, I might be able to win without losing anyone.  I started ComboMod with Hard and Europe.  It's definitely a different experience.  A bit more challenging than the original plain vanilla Aftermath at the Hard setting.  I think those spec ops dudes have the power to make me "nervous", as Aralez is fond of saying.

#23 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:41 PM

I'll add the picture Almaz. Looking GOOD!


#24 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 13 October 2004 - 11:21 PM

there were lots of loadout bugs in combo mos 2..but in 3 i havent had a crach whats so evr..but i havent tried adding all the stuff aralez gave me
cause i have a new idea for a the raider i have started working on a new model straight away..only probleam is the head..i any one can unload the u blocks and find the urban ublock with a civilan in it........and give me the cordinates of the head..than i could skin him to look almost perfact...cause the ones we have now..still look bad
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#25 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 11:29 PM

Well, as long as it doesn't give me more than two missions while my chopper is flying to location, so far I don't seem to get the Stalkwalk error during the loading of the tactical mission.

I like the ComboMod3.  I went back in and used grenades and used cover better, and this time I took the SpecOps completely out and only ended up with one guy in the hospital, with three still alive and ready to go.  The ComboMod3 definitely does propel you into using new ideas and tactics.  There's more to try as well.

During the first five missions or so, I don't see how you can win the wilderness missions against the SpecOps, but you can win against them if you are in a city and can use cover and lob grenades from behind cover.  So far, IT IS AS IT SHOULD BE, the right balance.

And, now I have a whole bunch of new weapons to try including a couple of the Barrett 82 Sniper Rifles that have been taking my guys out from long distance.  With a couple of those on my soldiers, the SpecOps won't be as quick to rush me.  They might retreat a bit more often, which of course will change the dynamic of the game.  Something new each time you play.

#26 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 13 October 2004 - 11:46 PM

glad to hear
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#27 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 14 October 2004 - 12:53 AM

slaughter why isnt aralez a admin anymore?
Edit> thanx slaughter

and i'm worki9ng one something new....a new raider model and some sloce combat weapons for them
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#28 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 06:05 AM

In one of my missions, I got to fight against Etherials, and they were indeed carrying Psi Weapons.  Great stuff.

In another mission, I used that Barrett Elephant gun and took down a Danglefly that was packing a Super Striker.

Now I'm getting a good sampling of weaponry, and it's time for those SpecOps dudes to show up again.  I might could slug it out with them instead of hiding behind fences and lobbing grenades.

Regarding the flare stun thing, I think it is about right, execpt for one thing.  If they are as light as you say, a person should be able to throw them at a much farther range, or at least throw them at the soldier's range limit.  The flares didn't seem to have as good a range or throwing rate as the grenades did.  I would have liked to be able to drop a flare on the enemy first and then throw the grenades, but they seemed to come into range of the grenades faster, so you just end up throwing grenades right from the moment they are in range of the grenades.  See what I'm getting at?  I want to be able to soften or slow them up with flares, and then switch to grenades for the enemies that have gotten through and are getting closer.  Then it would make it harder for them to rush you if the flares have a longer throwing range than the grenades.  So maybe that little change would be in order.  You would be wanting to carry and throw the flares first if the flares had a longer range than the grenades.  Might be something to consider.  Otherwise, besides somewhat annoying shorter range of the flares, I think the new flare stun tactic is an interesting and useful addition to our bag of tricks.

Edit:  There is another little trick that I do with weapons like the Barrett and the SuperStriker that have limited ammunition.  I have the soldier reload with a full clip before the previous clip is completely empty.  Then the partially empty clips are refilled when you get back to base, and you are usually given another clip.  That way, instead of running out of ammunition and not being able to use the Barrett and the SuperStriker due to lack of ammunition, I instead get all the clips filled that I took on the last mission plus I get one or two clips more when I get back to base.  So, before long, instead of having no clips of Barrett ammunition, I'm going up one or two clips per mission, and soon, I will have twelve clips, then 14 clips, then 16 clips, and so forth.  I got two of the Barret rifle from the Spec Ops, and as long as I reload just before a clip is empty, I just keep getting more and more clips, and I'll never run out of Barrett ammunition, even though it is a gun that is supposed to have sparse ammunition.  That M82 Barrett has more range than a LurkerGun, and it is really good at softening up the incoming enemies.  In one of my missions, the Barrett chewed up my Muton as if he were paper, so it also packs a whallop.  To first get the two Barrett guns, I hid behind fences drawing the SpecOps soldiers into range with their obsessive compulsion to rush you if you are hiding and they can't see you, and presto, I grenaded them to death when they got into range.  But, if you are caught out in the open and the SpecOps have the Barrett gun, suddenly your whole team is dead.

#29 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 14 October 2004 - 12:38 PM

BlackAlmaz, on Oct 14 2004, 02:53 AM, said:

slaughter why isnt aralez a admin anymore?
You never know what button he's going to push... :(. After the site was hacked we are reluctant to give away admin rights. Not because we don't trust people, but because the more users that have these rights, the higher a risk of hacking.


#30 jayohaitchenn

jayohaitchenn

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 12:59 PM

Looking good guys - well done. However i must resist from downloading this mod just yet as i still haven't finished the game. ON EASY! shocking, I know, but i just cannot do the russian base mission. stupid mind control... :(

#31 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 07:00 PM

The russian mission is HARD. No need to be ashamed.

Lurker, the reticulans are still there, we ADDED enemies only, not one was replaced. And the "invisible-stunned-enemy" is NOT a bug, but a feature, otherwise the units would empty their whole magazine of the stunweapons on them. But as they loose sight, they stop shooting. (Clever from ALTAR).

And yes, no other reported crahes yet, Lurker, tell your PC to behave  :(

Slaughter, it's perfectly alright with me that i'm no Admin, i never wanted to have that status anyway. It's much more comfortable that way.  :(

And i even noticed a decrease of the attempts to send me viruses and spam-mail!

BA, the human raiders are from Fulby, not me  :(  I only added them to the enemies army (Thx to Fulby!). Oh and if you add that faces, remember that there are two different raiders.

Lurker, the Ethereals sometimes carry other weapons, too. Even VERY big ones... But mostly they'll use PSI-weapons.

And the flare has more range than the grenades, almost the double stats iirc.

#32 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 14 October 2004 - 08:04 PM

what do you mean by 2??
if you want 2 diffrent armours i can do that one for each gender..and a face to mach
or do you just want 2 difrent  male ones?
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#33 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 09:19 PM

Yes, 20 meters on the flare as opposed to 11 on grenade.  The grenade weighs .7 while the flare weighs .3.

I can't figure out why I can't seem to throw the flare any farther away than the grenade.  Something else is factoring into it.  Maybe it's just the fact that the SpecOps guys are running when you first see them and by the time that you first see them, and by the time you have time to toss something, it's time to be tossing grenades if you want to live?  There's something there to it.  Maybe it's the fact that none of my soldiers are any good at throwing during the first couple of missions.

If you get a chance, try the flare at 25 meters, 30 meters, and 35 meters, or try a flare at .1 weight and see if there is a noticeably different feel to the flare during the first two or three missions of a new game.

And, then stick with the feel that you like best.

--

And yes I try to stay quiet as much as possible.  But . . . Aftermath is the only game I have ever played that just consistently demands that it must crash every chance it gets.  Every three months or so, I have to really complain and let it out.  I have never seen a game like it, when it comes to crashes.  I don't know whether it is a good thing or a bad thing, but on this Windows XP machine, the Aftermath game seems to crash differently each time it crashes.  But, the game never crashed on this machine when I was playing it without the mods.

Of course, I have since come to believe that Aftermath is incompatible with Zone Alarm 5.X.  I have gotten rid of Zone Alarm completely, and I am now running with the firewall in Windows XP Service Pack 2.

So far, the stalkwalk 6 thing only happens at the beginning of every new ComboMod game when I'm flying to my first mission and the game offers me three or four new missions while my chopper is in flight.  I haven't had any problems since then.

On the Altar Forum, they say that the Stalkwalk errors are due to driver conflicts.  I think that my problem is that I updated to the latest drivers.  Aftermath was designed around only one set of drivers, the 4323 Nvidia drivers, and that's the only set of drivers that it worked flawlessly with.  There might be newer drivers out there that will make Dawn of War play better, but I'm afraid to install them for fear that I will get more crashing of Aftermath than just the single Stalkwalk 6 at the start of a new ComboMod game.  :(

Sometimes, though, I think that the reason that I get so many crashes with Aftermath is because I play the game so much.

Also, I have never played around with the Shadows and Compatibility of TA thingies in the Aftermath launcher, which are supposed to be able to make people who can't play the game suddenly be able to play the game according to the Altar forum.  Anyway, I just go with the defaults, and I guess if I only get one crash per game, that's acceptable.  But, in the past, when I got around 30 to 40 bases, the thing would start crashing regularly and randomly, RB6.7 iirc, and of course you knew that I had problems with the Colt M4 crashing RB 6.8 to desktop in a regular fashion, whenever it was used with another explosive weapon.

On this machine, C&C Generals or Dawn of War have never crashed, ever.  Neither have Warcraft III or Shogun Total War or the Homeworld Games or Unreal Tournament or Mechwarrior 4 or Red Alert 2 or anything.  Nothing crashes like Aftermath.

Okay, I've had my rant, and now I guess I'm supposed to be good for another three months, at least until BlackAlmaz comes back and provides us with something new to see and test.   :(

#34 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 09:36 PM

Lurker, updating drivers helps. A LOT!  :(

Btw, did you consider using the "Tough-Alien-Mod" yet? It forces you to use sneaky and cowardly tactics, you really should try it.

BA, i meant simply that there are two types of human raiders, don't forget to give BOTH a face  :( I know, sometimes i type so fast that my brain can't follow and i produce strange sentences....

Remember the Bikini-Muton ? Same problem there....  :(

#35 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 10:04 PM

Updating drivers is what seems to mess up Aftermath for me, but it helps with everything else.  :(

I haven't used any other mods besides the ComboMod3.  I play it alone, so that when I get a crash, I have something more precise to point to.

I did try the Tough Alien Mod with RB6.8, and a single tactical mission would go on for hours and hours, with lots of saving and reloading.  I guess that I refuse to use Abort and whatever other 'cowardly tactics' that you suggest.  Of course, if it's a Wilderness mission with no fences to hide behind, I tended to get overrun and then the missions were rather short.  But, a city mission seemed to go on for hours with TA Mod, and I just didn't have the hours that the Tough Alien mod demanded.

The ComboMod3 alone at the Hard setting has some moderately long missions, but they don't seem to go on for hours and the SpecOps rush does eventually come to an end.

I just want you to play around with the Flare for me a bit and see if you can give it more range for new Level 1 soldiers.  I think what is happening is that both the grenade and the flare are being limited to the sighting range or the throwing range of the new Level 1 soldiers, so it makes it appear that the grenade and the flare have the exact same range.  And, if they do indeed have the same effective range during the first three or four missions where you really want to be using the flares, I end up using the grenades instead, because those SpecOps dudes are really close and moving fast by the time they are in range to lob something at them.

At least in ComboMod3, a couple of well placed grenades will kill the SpecOps.  That's better than the indestructible SpecOps of the previous ComboMod.

The other 'solution' to the flare is to make it stun a bit longer so that you have time to switch to a grenade and throw that grenade before the SpecOps become unstunned and start running again.

Anyway, as I see it, the flare thing is a first five mission tactic that you use when you only have Uzi's and shotguns that are worthless.  When you have no guns or no range, and flares and grenades are all you have to fight with in the first five missions, it would be nice to have the flare more usable for the stun tactic that you suggest.

After the first five missions, hopefully, you have captured a couple of sniper rifles, and that keeps them from rushing you ten all at once, or seems to enhance your sighting range.  Of course, by then, if you are lucky or have been limiting yourself to city missions, then you have a couple of level 2 soldiers who can throw farther, but then you are more tempted to throw 40meter SuperStriker rather than 20meter flares after you have done five or ten missions.

#36 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 10:08 PM

I edited the previous message.

#37 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 10:09 PM

Later in the game you'll get the FlashBangs, so no need to strengthen the flares. And you'll really need stunweapons with the ToughAlienmod.

#38 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 15 October 2004 - 12:47 AM

hey guys so what do you think of the full auto mode?
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#39 Lurker

Lurker

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 15 October 2004 - 03:34 AM

I wanted to know what weapons use the full auto mode.

This time around, I didn't run the ComboMod3 through the allitems cheat.  I'm fighting and earning the weapons the old fashioned way, so I don't have many of the weapons yet.

The Barrett sniper rifle and model, that I am in worship of this time around, doesn't seem to be full auto, and neither is the SuperStriker.  :(

But, I must say that a burst from the HK G11K5 sounds a lot like the burst from the M16 that our Rifle Range Instructor was firing at the rifle range when I was a Scout at scout camp.  I always liked that sound, especially when you have the woods or forests and hills for it to echo through.  The HKG11K5 in burst mode was really effective for cutting down incoming chompers and poppers, and I was impressed with it.

I have got to play some more missions.  My first three missions or so were against the SpecOps, but now I've done five more or so missions against transgenants.  The SpecOps dudes were the ones who gifted me with all those nice weapons.  But, you don't get much off of trangenants.

I tell you, the first ten missions or so, what you scavenge off the enemies makes all the difference.  It has also been kind of different not to see a LurkerGun or a BFG in the first ten missions.  It has been awhile since that has happened.  Not saying that it is good or bad, it's just different for a change.

Anyway, I do like the ComboMod3.  That much I can say for sure.

#40 jayohaitchenn

jayohaitchenn

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 15 October 2004 - 09:51 AM

Aralez, on Oct 14 2004, 07:00 PM, said:

The russian mission is HARD. No need to be ashamed.
No shame for me!! i completed "area 52" last night. 6 deaths, but at least I (malcolm) survived!! I have also rescued the two old greys so i must be nearly finished now, just a matter of time!!

Combo MOD, here i come!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users