ALPine


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#41 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 16 March 2004 - 07:06 PM

It is called 64_mod.vfs !

#42 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 16 March 2004 - 11:30 PM

Sounds good! Post here when it is up...


#43 Manus

Manus

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 17 March 2004 - 08:48 AM

The RB63 VFS name is:63_mod.vfs and I always  :) rename it to cfg.vfs when I using it with Alpin.

#44 Fulby

Fulby

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 21 March 2004 - 12:19 PM

The patch is now available here.

The mod wrapper will now find VFS files matching "*mod*.vfs" and the Plugin Installer has a checkbox to auto-overwrite files when extracting plugins.

Fulby

#45 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 21 March 2004 - 02:18 PM

Any chance you could make a new installer?


#46 Fulby

Fulby

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 21 March 2004 - 03:00 PM

Of course there's a chance :)

Fulby

#47 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 21 March 2004 - 08:24 PM

Sounds good! :) Do tell me when it's ready.


#48 Fulby

Fulby

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 06 April 2004 - 04:58 PM

The ALPine website was having problems and so has moved to a better place, namely  http://www.ufoaftermath.co.uk/alpine/.  My thanks to Pete for the webspace.

ALPine 3.0.2 is now available from the web site as an installer instead of a patch.

Fulby

#49 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 06 April 2004 - 06:42 PM

Is anyone interested in an Alpine plugin that limits your crew to seven people? I had this idea when i had  14 or more recruits in my equipment screen and they somehow made me nervous  :)

And did anyone ever try to add a new difficulty level? I thought about something like the "superhuman" level in XCOM....

I could do another Alpine plugin with this, IF it works....

#50 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 07 April 2004 - 03:47 PM

Sure Aralez, the more plugins the better :).

@Fulby: Nice! I'll update the ALPine section when I get back from Easter.


#51 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 09 April 2004 - 09:17 PM

As it seems the number of Aliens can't be increased without the game crashing. So a "new difficulty level" -plugin will not be released by me. Sorry!

But i will work on the crew-maximum-plugin.

CU!

#52 CommChe

CommChe

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 April 2004 - 11:32 AM

Fulby, on Mar 21 2004, 12:19 PM, said:

The patch is now available here.

The mod wrapper will now find VFS files matching "*mod*.vfs" and the Plugin Installer has a checkbox to auto-overwrite files when extracting plugins.

Fulby
I downloaded the new alpine (thanks by the way  :(  )

pplying Plugins...
Processing * Mod Wrapper...
Error processing: plugins\1mod.lua
Lua Error: plugins\1mod.lua:18: attempt to concatenate local `cfg' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
plugins\1mod.lua:18: in main chunk
Processing Tactical Mission Camera Modes...
Processing Blood Patch...
Processing Ammo Manufacturing...
Processing TNT...
Finalising...
Finished processing plugins


still getting this error message whenever I try to use the mod wrapper with RB1.06

what am I doing wrong? Yes, I renamed the rebalance to cfg.vfs. But I tried it first without renaming it and I still got the same message... :(

#53 BlackAlmaz

BlackAlmaz

    THE GHOST FROM XMAS PAST

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Location:Sydney/Australia

Posted 29 April 2004 - 11:43 AM

looking back in time there was a magablast mod...using rb 3.3 wich increased the alian numbers by 3-4 thats how i once had 35 alians on a damn battle ship (outside)

and the game didnt crash

why dont you have a look at what was done Aralez....or it might not work with UFO:AF 1.3

and i was only able to make the mod wraper work once so i eather use plugins or mods
"THERE AT THE BERACADES!!!....THERE IN THE PERIMETER!?.....THERE IN THIS ROOM!?" ALIANs

#54 Fulby

Fulby

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 29 April 2004 - 01:56 PM

Hi CommChe,

A few questions:

What version of Windows are you using?

What is the path UFO:AM is installed to?

Is the RB mod placed in "ALPine\plugins\mods\mod1"?
Please check the exact path, i.e. \mods\ not \mod\

Do other mods work with the mod wrapper?
Download some small mods from UFOaftermath.co.uk if you don't have any.

Renaming to cfg.vfs is not a problem.  The program tries to find a file matching "*cfg*.vfs", then "*mod*.vfs", then returns Nil which is what is causing the error.  Make sure the other mods you try match one of those two patterns.

Fulby

#55 Aralez

Aralez

    Forum Grandpa'

  • Fan Fiction
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,670 posts

Posted 29 April 2004 - 07:47 PM

@BlackAlmaz: I tried to increase the number of aliens in 1.3 the way the mentioned modder did it and had no success. 22 was the maximum i could achieve (that's the normal number in hard). Btw, i remember some people complained about crashes with the Megablastmod. Maybe that was caused by that alien numbers being to high...

#56 CommChe

CommChe

    Squaddie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 April 2004 - 01:52 AM

Fulby, on Apr 29 2004, 01:56 PM, said:

What version of Windows are you using?

What is the path UFO:AM is installed to?

Is the RB mod placed in "ALPine\plugins\mods\mod1"?
Please check the exact path, i.e. \mods\ not \mod\

Do other mods work with the mod wrapper?
Hi fulby

I'm using WIN XP pro with SP 1.

UFO AM is c:\CENEGA\ufoaftermath

No!  :( the RB mod was not in that dir.

After creating some dirs and placing the appropriate vfs files in them, I ran the alpine program and IT ALL WORKED   :(

Applying Plugins...
Processing * Mod Wrapper...
Processing Tactical Mission Camera Modes...
Processing Blood Patch...
Processing Geomarks (Craft colour)...
Finalising...
Finished processing plugins

I should have explored more and read all of your helpful readmes. Thanks mate for your help. And you are doing an absolutely fantastic job with making AM closer to what it should have been. You, slaughter and aralez should be on the dev team for sure!  :(

and all of you guys for that matter.

#57 Fulby

Fulby

    Lieutenant

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 30 April 2004 - 06:33 AM

Good to hear it's working :(

Fulby

#58 Red

Red

    Nit Pickey

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 12:13 PM

Since the ALPine website is DOWN.

the Other *.Alp Mods MUST be Run BEFORE
you [ APPLY ] the Lua Plugin Engine 3.0.2?
After you install ALPine.

Wondering HOW to operate the Mod Wrapper?

the [ mods readme.txt ]
C:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath\ALPine\plugins\mods
See "1mod readme.txt" for general information on this plugin.


Adding mods to the Mod Wrapper

Create a sequence of directories called modX in the plugins\mods directory, where X is a number starting from 1.  Place each mod's "*cfg.vfs" or "*mod*.vfs" file and "LocalizationPack.vfs" file in one of the plugins\mods\modX directory.

For example:
Make directory "plugins\mods\mod1"
Copy the VFS files from the first mod into it.
Make directory "plugins\mods\mod2"
Copy a second mod's VFS files into it.
We need to place each Additional Mod in a Folder.
C:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath\ALPine\plugins\mods\mod1
C:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath\ALPine\plugins\mods\mod2


Using ALPine, 68_mod & combo_beta ALL together is OK?
Applying Plugins...
Processing * Mod Wrapper...
Error processing: plugins\1mod.lua
Lua Error: plugins\1mod.lua:18: attempt to concatenate local `cfg' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
	code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
	plugins\1mod.lua:18: in main chunk
Means that the Mods weren't Placed in the Proper Folders and Wasn't able to merge it with ALPine.
Experience:
- UFO: Enemy Unknown / X-COM: UFO Defense
- UFO: Aftermath -  1.4

#59 Red

Red

    Nit Pickey

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:55 AM

And the other Plugins in the ALPine 3.0.2
= Does this mean IF the Parameters isn't mentioned we should keep it at Zero Value?
= Whats the Original FoV Parameter? is this Fog of War?
= http://www.thefall.n...th/musicmod.zip IS NO Longer exist?


Applying Plugins...
Processing * Mod Wrapper...
Processing Tactical Mission Camera Modes...
Processing Helicopter Speed...
Processing More Recruits...
Processing Hostile Humans...
Processing Stun Rod...
Error processing: plugins\stunrod.lua
Lua Error: code\files.lua:135: attempt to concatenate field `?' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
	code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
	code\files.lua:135: in function `saveitems'
	code\items.lua:71: in function `addmagazine'
	plugins\stunrod.lua:7: in main chunk
Processing TNT...
Error processing: plugins\tnt.lua
Lua Error: code\files.lua:103: file is already closed
stack traceback:
	code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
	[C]: ?
	code\files.lua:103: in function `loaditems'
	code\items.lua:55: in function `addmagazine'
	plugins\tnt.lua:5: in main chunk
Processing Extended Magazines for UZI...
Error processing: plugins\uziex.lua
Lua Error: code\files.lua:103: file is already closed
stack traceback:
	code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
	[C]: ?
	code\files.lua:103: in function `loaditems'
	plugins\uziex.lua:12: in main chunk
Processing Warp Bomb and WTD...
Error processing: plugins\wtd.lua
Lua Error: code\files.lua:103: file is already closed
stack traceback:
	code\core.lua:291: in function `alpine_error_handler'
	[C]: ?
	code\files.lua:103: in function `loaditems'
	code\items.lua:55: in function `addmagazine'
	plugins\wtd.lua:5: in main chunk
Finalising...
Finished processing plugins
NO IDEA what's the Problem? does this mean We cant use the ALPine Equipment? and that we can't use them?
Applying Plugins...
Processing Extended Magazines for UZI...
Processing Stargate Staff Weapon by Red Otter...
Processing Stargate ZAT (Zat'n'kitel)  by Red Otter...
Processing * Mod Wrapper...
Processing Tactical Mission Camera Modes...
Processing Helicopter Speed...
Processing Field of View...
Processing More Recruits...
Processing Hostile Humans...
Processing Psionic Mutant...
Processing Blood Patch...
Processing One-Handed SMGs...
Finalising...
Finished processing plugins

Experience:
- UFO: Enemy Unknown / X-COM: UFO Defense
- UFO: Aftermath -  1.4

#60 Slaughter

Slaughter

    Colonel

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway, Oslo

Posted 24 August 2008 - 12:28 PM

It's been a while since Fulby was around, so you should try to PM/e-mail him. As for the mod, I might have it somewhere, but not sure which one that is. There is a musicmod in the files section I believe?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users