I have "access violation" bugs... often...

Harrdy

I can't pin down the problem, it occures at different times and even when I am doing "nothing" (waiting for new assignements). And yes, I installed the newest drivers (without them the game wouldn't run at all).

(one of) The error message(s) is:

Application crashed: access violation reading from address: 0xb819480f!

SymInit search path: g:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath

SymGetSymFromAddr:126, addr:0xb819480f

StackWalk:126

I have Windows XP (Sp1) and a geforce2mx400. And I have the german version of the game...

I ALSO get a "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library Error" from time to time.

Runtime Error

g:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath\UFO.exe

abnormal program termination

Pretty please, will there be a patch? I REALLY want to play the game, but every 1/4 hour a restart get's frustrating...

(and sorry 'bout my english... not my native tongue)

PeAcE

I am an Administrator (User Group), do I have to install as THE Administrator or is the user group "Administrators" sufficient?

Another one with a little bit more "flesh":

Application crashed: access violation writing to address 0x77e83e1c!

SymInit search path: G:\Program Files\CENEGA\UFO Aftermath

GetDriveTypeW at line ??? addr:0x77e7d5b1

GetDriveTypeW at line ??? addr:0x77e7d82d

LoadLibraryExW at line ??? addr:0x77e7d8cb

LoadLibraryExA at line ??? addr:0x77e7d95e

SymGetSymFromAddr:487, addr:0x00422d98

SymGetSymFromAddr:126, addr:0xa0ff0000

StackWalk:126

There is a lot of noise from the hard disc before the game crashes... I have 256MB Ram, maybe a problem with that? (but 128 should also suffice)

PeAcE

I believe there are other people playing the German version of UFO:A without these problems. Therefore, I am afraid it would appear to be an issue with incompatibility with your computer and the game.

This means that it is unlikely Altar will never release a patch that will solve your problems.