I think I've played this too much in my youth

Pete

So I revisited this last night after many years of neglect due to real life stuff, and even using Ironman mode in OpenXcom I'm in mid-March, year 1, and I have laser rifles and 4 lots of Flying Armour and 6 lots of Power Suits.

Don't get me wrong, I've had a few close calls, and a mission where only two soldiers survived. I even had a few missions where I only took 5 soldiers as I forgot 3 were wounded and I hadn't hired anymore. But I've managed to survive two terror missions (Floaters - easy - and Sectoids, slightly harder because of Cyberdiscs). I must say I'm using some weapons I've never used before (AC, HC) and incendiary on those reapers really does work a treat, so maybe finally straying from my "only rifles and grenades" game I've played since way back in 1994 is helping :)

I think my comeuppance will be in the USA though - I'd built a radar station there and it detected two large UFO's, one small and an extra large. I couldn't shoot any of them down, but I've landed the Skyranger at the XL and so far have only had one solder mind controlled (laser weapons and power armour meaning that poor guy isn't doing much damage so far :D).

Can someone remind me - if I survive - is there a way for me to stop the USA going over to the aliens once this activity has begun? I vaguely recall you can if you shoot down all the UFOs, though I may have imagined that. Is it possible by sweeping the XL UFO clean or is all lost? I guess they could be building a base, but the landing sites are really spread out so I'm thinking infiltration instead.

Also can someone remind me if I can redirect the Skyranger to the two large UFOs on the way back and clear those out too?

It's been so long since I've played that I've forgotten some of the game mechanics. I even forgot to assign research for two weeks :D