Is there a mod that adds more characters?

Kyuujou

I am pretty new to this game but made some progress, early on however a few soldiers died and I assumed there was a way to wake up some of the Cryo-preserved humans and trudged on.

Well here I am now unable to do much and just watching the red blips pile up as my hilariously inadequate personel list goes out one by one.

Is there a mod that allows me to recruit more? Its a pretty huge deal...

Nope. In order to get more units you need to research a way to build robots or rebuild the Martian ones.

The only reinforcements you get are 2 reticulans. Olga (probably only if her father dies or later when he retires), two twins (Pierre and the second one) and Rita, where Rita can have technician or scientists depends who dies first.

This game wasn't designed for Ironman.

Well then is there a way to mod in a handful of extra characters? I mean it does explicitly say Laputans are suppose to give reinforcements and that theres ya know the cryo-tomb. It seems believable that at some point they would wake some people if they need it or invest in cloning technology.

Is there some way make more people? Like im down just to have random lv1's with no abilities.

I keep hearing the argument its not Xcom but the combat seriously is challenging and the incredibly small group of people given simply isnt enough. I mean the first event where beast men appear wiped half my soldiers as they retreated. :\

Then you should have reloaded and prepared better :P