Two or onegun, which is better

jwh

I'm a XCOM 1 veteran who recently started Apocalypse. I'm wondering when equipping my soldiers to fight in real timewhether should I use one or two guns.

You see, I know that for the bigger weapons which require two hands that you will suffer an accuracy bonus if you try to shoot with just one hand. Which means that i can end up wasting ammo which is relatively scarce in the early game. On the other hand if I use two weapons it doubles my rate of fire ( I think ) and should double my chances of hitting the enemy.

In your experience fellow apocalypse players which should I go for?

The only advantage of carrying two weapons is that you can choose which to use without switching for one in your backpack. Whichever weapon you highlight in the bar is the one that you fire when you give the order. I'd say you want one M4K for each of your guys then load their belts with stun and HE grenades. A couple of heavies are also useful for the tougher missions but they aren't necesarily vital. I tend to get away with my M4s early on...

Thanks Veteran, I was under the impression from some of the posts that I had seen in various Xcom Forums that a soldier with two weapons would fire both of them at the same time.

I've been using mostly autocannons with either incendiary or HE ammo. I believe that they have a wider radius if damage then ordinary HP ammo and thus even if I get a near miss it should still do some damage. I've been wary of the Machine guns because they are rather inaccurate and seem to waste a lot of ammo.

A question, How do I determine if a weapon is a one handed or a two handed. So far I've been assuming that it' s a matter of size and name. e.g the plasma gun, law pistol, toxigun and disruptor guns all look small, so I assume that they are one handed weapons.

On the other hand the laser sniper gun, Devatator Cannon, autocannon and M4000 Machine gun all look big so I would believe that they are two handed.