spacer

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Posting Guidelines

Please read the Forum Rules before posting.

 
Digg this topic Save to del.icio.us Submit to Reddit Slashdot It
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> UFO version available from Free-CDSoftware.com
mewse
post 10th September 2003, 4:10am
Post #1


Squaddie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: September 2003
Member No.: 737



I ordered a copy of X-Com from the Free-CDSoftware website. As you can see from their page for the game, they've put up a copy of the original box art.

Well, it's not a boxed copy of the game. It's not even an original copy of the game, it seems to be a new pressing, so I guess whoever these guys are, they got permission from Infogrames to press new copies of the game.

It's got a 1-color black design on the CD which says:

Xcom UFO Defense
(Microprose)

It actually says "Xcom" not "X-Com". Anyways, that's above the hole, beneath it there is a large Infogrames logo (that's an aardvark right?) and small print stating "All Copyrights, Trademarks & Trade dress are property of their respective owners."

The version of UFO on the disc does appear to be 1.2 although I haven't checked the executables with XComUtil or anything. I suspect this disc is copied from the first CD pressing of the game. It's got a bunch of wacky batch files dealing with installing to a hard drive and stuff.

Conclusion:

* Buy this CD if you want a cheap copy of X-Com 1.2, which is becoming harder to find than 1.4 or the Gold Edition.
* Don't buy this CD if you want a printed manual or box, or even jewel case, it shipped in a paper sleeve.

It's obvious these people are making money from the shipping and delivery charges, and the whole "free" aspect is just a marketing scam, but I only paid $11 Canadian to get it shipped up here, that's like $7USD so I guess it was reasonable.

My only other copy of X-Com is the CD from the Conquer the Universe set, it's v1.4 and it has a PDF version of the manual on the disc. The only reason I'm happy with this new CD is that it's got 1.2 on it so I won't lose that version again.

Here's a listing of the files and directories on the CD:

CODE
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               337 CDSETUP.BAT
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               738 DONE.COM
01/03/1995  12:30 PM           254,556 DOS4GW.EXE
01/03/1995  12:30 PM                35 FULL.BAT
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_1
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_10
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_2
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_3
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_4
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_5
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_6
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_7
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_8
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GAME_9
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GEODATA
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          GEOGRAPH
01/03/1995  12:30 PM             1,169 GO.COM
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               841 INSTALL.BAT
01/03/1995  12:30 PM                 6 INTR.O
01/03/1995  12:30 PM            74,314 INTRO.EXE
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          MAPS
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          MISSDAT
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               839 NOWAY.COM
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               957 README.TXT
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          ROUTES
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          RUNEXE
01/03/1995  12:30 PM            21,572 SETUP.EXE
01/03/1995  12:30 PM                16 SMALL.BAT
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          SOUND
01/03/1995  12:30 PM                10 SOUND.CFG
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          TERRAIN
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          UFO2EXE
01/03/1995  12:30 PM                 6 UFOC.D
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               308 UFOCD.BAT
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          UFOEXE
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          UFOGRAPH
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          UFOINTRO
13/03/1995  10:51 AM    <DIR>          UNITS
01/03/1995  12:30 PM               705 WELCOME.COM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BladeFireLight
post 10th September 2003, 4:28am
Post #2


Xcomutil Developer
****

Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: November 2002
From: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Member No.: 136



Congrats on finding that.

I's nice to see someone willing to pay for a good product... even if it is just shiping and handaling.. if inforgrame's(Atari) see's them sell enough of them maybe they will realize that people like thease types of games.

-Blade FireLight


--------------------
QUOTE
Combat is very simple, there is a first place and second place, second place is laying face down in the mud, sometimes, so is first place.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rattler
post 10th September 2003, 10:14pm
Post #3


Sergeant
***

Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: April 2003
Member No.: 919



Is this truly legit? Cause I would really like to buy this, I have the box, the manual and so forth just not the disks, but I don't want to get robbed of my money and stuff. Or get charges pressed against me for priacy of software
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BladeFireLight
post 11th September 2003, 5:32am
Post #4


Xcomutil Developer
****

Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: November 2002
From: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Member No.: 136



I've been trying to dig up dirt on them.. the best i can come up with is that they use spam to advertize. they say they dont sell email address.. but the sure must buy them.

the software is sold with permission but if your looking for a box and manual your out of luck..

dont expect support either.. the UFO is a dos version and doent run on XP. (for most people any way)

-Blade FireLight


--------------------
QUOTE
Combat is very simple, there is a first place and second place, second place is laying face down in the mud, sometimes, so is first place.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mewse
post 12th September 2003, 1:01am
Post #5


Squaddie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: September 2003
Member No.: 737



it's legit. the site wouldn't survive very long if they were selling these games illegally. they're based in flagstaff, arizona. the infogrames logo on the disc strongly suggests they've cut a deal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ion Mage
post 12th September 2003, 1:40am
Post #6


Summoner of Ion Cannons
****

Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: September 2002
Member No.: 542



QUOTE(BladeFireLight @ Sep 11 2003, 01:32 AM)
I've been trying to dig up dirt on them.. the best i can come up with is that they use spam to advertize. they say they dont sell email address.. but the sure must buy them.

the software is sold with permission but if your looking for a box and manual your out of luck..

dont expect support either.. the UFO is a dos version and doent run on XP. (for most people any way)

Also, are you sure they wont sell email addresses?  My email is relatively spam-free, and i intend it to stay that way...

-Blade FireLight

well, dosbox will soon support the dos version of the game in XP, at least the screenshots from the upcoming (not yet released) version showed TFTD running on it at least, so its safe to assume that UFO would run on it as well.

Anyways, great find, my friend! Great find! I might get it, if only just to get a DOS version for no apparent reason (i only have the collectors edition of it).


--------------------
Magic and technology combined....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Collapse

> Similar Topics

    Topic Title Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts   4 D66 1,270 23rd March 2008, 12:51am
Last post by: nimd4
No new   18 Cadmus 1,005 7th April 2003, 12:56pm
Last post by: Cadmus
No New Posts   1 volsch 488 15th April 2003, 3:19pm
Last post by: DragonHawk
No New Posts   1 kai 714 31st May 2003, 10:18am
Last post by: GazChap
No New Posts 9 jock113 925 16th February 2004, 8:38am
Last post by: FullAuto

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2008, 12:24pm