Revenge of the Titans Review

by on 12th Feb 2012

Revenge of the Titans is an Indie title released on Steam in March 2011 due in part to its inclusion in the successful second Humble Indie Bundle. Developed by Puppy Games it is an imaginative combination of tower defence and RTS.

The game sends waves of rather adorable 'titans', reminiscent of Space Invaders, towards your main base. The intention, like most tower defence games, is to eliminate them before they reach you. To do this you have to manage resources using upgradable refineries and place turrets, barricades and other obstacles in such a way that they impede the enemies' progress. There is a certain amount of pre planning involved as the enemies will use the roads in the area, speeding their progress, but allowing you to estimate their path. It's an exclusively single player game which is slightly disappointing as a co-op mode could have worked well. There is a campaign mode along with survival and endurance.

The defence structures themselves vary from laser and explosive turrets, barricades of varying degrees of toughness and tanks and droids which stream out from their factories to engage smaller titans. The units can be improved by both options in the in-depth research tree and placeable buildings such as cooling towers that speed up the firing rate of your lasers, batteries that provide more ammunition or add-ons for your refineries that make resource gain more efficient.

These extra add-ons, rather pleasingly, can be used by more than one main defensive structure at a time making arrangement of your defences important. There are also some 'exotic' power-ups that are single use but stay on you for a single battle such as extra ammunition for your turrets. You can hoard these for as long as you want and reserve them for boss fights which can be very useful.

The research tree itself is in-depth and logical giving you access to many upgrade options at once.  Unfortunately the game rather suffers in that it gives you little guidance of where to invest, beyond refineries, and the later levels can be rather tough if you haven't upgraded in a sensible manner. This means that the game may take more than one play through to master, without a guide, as there is no way to either know what is sensible to take or what will be necessary to progress. Some of the more powerful titans in later levels can only be destroyed by different types of guns or defences making it frustrating to plan ahead in my humble opinion. It sorely lacks an ability to reassign points or even replay earlier levels for research points.

Despite this flaw the game itself is very pleasant to play with a friendly difficulty curve that will welcome beginners and avoid frustrating veterans of the genre. The titans themselves behave differently; from the small elusive ones sneaking past your turrets to the huge bosses you have to defeat to secure the different planets. There is a rather thoughtful option to 'fast forward' the march of the titans if you are satisfied with your defensive emplacements. It's also possible to reduce the difficulty during the game if you are struggling but the game is quite forgiving on its base settings and will probably provide a challenging but fun experience for most dedicated gamers. The game rewards you with an excess of medals and points if you finish a level with exceptional prowess giving you a rather smug feeling.

The aesthetics are very effective for the tone of the game. The 2D environments and titans being reminiscent of both Space Invaders and Pac Man. Even the rather retro 'pew pew' of the defence turrets evokes eighties arcade games and defeated alien sprites disappear with a satisfying muted explosion that almost seems lifted straight from the Atari 2600. The player is guided through the campaign mode by cute sprites representing a staunch British general and a bespectacled boffin. Magicka style mumbling stands in for voice acting. The synthesised level music can become a little grating for my tastes but is at least fitting for the game.

Overall Revenge of the Titans doesn't disappoint in what it sets out to do. The game-play makes sense and it is fun to see what you can do with your new upgrades or research. Again, there is a big flaw in the rigidity of the research tree but that also gives it some replay value. The art style and atmosphere of the game is really well conceived and it will make you smile alongside commiserating over failures. I had a lot of fun with this game and I would say it's well worth the price.

Reviewer's Verdict: 7/10

 

Add Comment Comments

FullAuto\
2 Apr 2012 - 10:41am
FullAuto
So, is anyone else feeling the wrath of the titans recently?  I'm clashing on my latest playthrough because I made some shiLiamNeesont choices on the research tree.  So sick of it I almost Ralphed, but I'm struggling on and should be Fiennes.  I'm going to stop playing at Nighyt though because of the electricity Bill.

Yes, that should do it.
Pete\
2 Apr 2012 - 5:41am
Pete
I've honestly not seen either film, but from what I hear RotT has better acting.

It's certainly funnier, and I imagine has better dialogue :argh:
FullAuto\
2 Apr 2012 - 12:12am
FullAuto
I note shitty sequel to shitty film, Wrath of the Titans is currently in cinemas.

Can we cash in?
Charlie\
16 Feb 2012 - 11:25pm
Charlie

princec, on 16th February 2012, 9:46am, said:

Cheers :D

If we got enough interest we might see about making a co-op expansion for Revenge.

Cas :P

Like Pete says we will hold a poll and maybe get some discussion going about co-op in tower defense. I think it would make a great game even more fun.  :clapping:
FullAuto\
16 Feb 2012 - 10:12pm
FullAuto
/Carves it in stone
Sunflash\
16 Feb 2012 - 10:03pm
Sunflash
"Few Weeks"

DID YA CATCH THAT BOYS? MARK IT DOWN.
Pete\
16 Feb 2012 - 7:05pm
Pete
Hi Cas

Tell you what, we'll run a poll to see how much interest we have here when we re-launch our updated site in a few weeks?
princec\
16 Feb 2012 - 9:46am
princec

Charlie, on 12th February 2012, 11:57pm, said:

That could be a great idea some of the older games are very good.
Cheers :clapping:

If we got enough interest we might see about making a co-op expansion for Revenge.

Cas :P
Charlie\
12 Feb 2012 - 11:57pm
Charlie
That could be a great idea some of the older games are very good.
Pete\
12 Feb 2012 - 8:31pm
Pete
I keep meaning to give Dungeon Defenders a go - heard nothing but good things about it. I also loved the mad-as-a-box-of-frogs trailer on Steam with the Portal gun and TF2 characters: http://store.steampo....com/app/65800/ :clapping:

Sadly, whilst it looks both fun and visually pleasing, it also looks like it would sap too much of my free time if I got addicted to it like I did with TF2 and L4D 1 & 2

I was wondering earlier what it would be like to have a Revenge of the Titans PvP mode with the second player playing the Titans, but they're already hard enough as it is so that would be chaotic at best for the defender as the Titans would be better able to edge around your defenses.

(I'd forgotten about the Elerians in MoO2 by the way Charlie until I saw your avatar - they were my favourite race and, aside from the Psilons and occasionally the humans, I don't think I played the other races :P Maybe we should do more retro reviews as we certainly don't have enough articles on older titles).
Charlie\
12 Feb 2012 - 8:07pm
Charlie

Pete, on 12th February 2012, 5:14pm, said:

Co-op would be awesome. I'm not aware of any co-op Tower Defense, but I'm sure someone must have done it by now, surely.

I found things got a bit frantic later on in the game, but then I'm not the best gamer ever and I suppose I could have turned the difficulty down.I'm determined to get back to it at some point and take the fight to Titan - currently stuck in a stalemate (read: getting my ass handed to me repeatedly :clapping:) on Saturn.


About the only game I can think of is Dungeon Defenders where you and up to 3 other players defend a crystal from incoming monsters. It's pretty much Tower Defense crossed with....Diablo 2? I guess. :/

Yeah that sounds right.  It's pretty good fun, but challenging.

I think co-op would fit well into a game like Titans as it's the player against an enemy. The addition of another player wouldn't be that difficult and also add an extra challenge to the game
Space Voyager\
12 Feb 2012 - 5:35pm
Space Voyager
Great review, thank you Charlie!
Pete\
12 Feb 2012 - 5:14pm
Pete

FullAuto, on 12th February 2012, 4:46pm, said:

Co-op is an intriguing thought.  Has anyone done that yet, in TD?
Co-op would be awesome. I'm not aware of any co-op Tower Defense, but I'm sure someone must have done it by now, surely.

I found things got a bit frantic later on in the game, but then I'm not the best gamer ever and I suppose I could have turned the difficulty down.I'm determined to get back to it at some point and take the fight to Titan - currently stuck in a stalemate (read: getting my ass handed to me repeatedly :clapping:) on Saturn.
FullAuto\
12 Feb 2012 - 4:46pm
FullAuto
Was anyone else disappointed this wasn't a sequel to Remember the Titans?

No?

Me neither.

I felt much the same about it.  Liked the research tree, but you can't really just take what you want, I think there are certain things early on you have to take, but other than that the game is a bit easy.  Loved the art style, sound was quickly muted.  Really enjoyed it for the pennies it cost me.

Co-op is an intriguing thought.  Has anyone done that yet, in TD?

 

Add Comment

You must be logged in to reply. Please log in or register an account.

Game Card

Revenge of the Titans Box
Developer: Puppygames
Publisher: Puppygames
Released:14/12/2010

Screenshots

Databank

Purchasing Options